Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed it exactly and have two major complaints: (1) WAY too much celery seed. Next time I would cut this in half at least because all I could taste was celery seed with every bite. (2) it really was too crunchy, so I think the celery and/or green bell pepper should also be cut in half. Additionally, the olives seemed sort of pointless to me so can easily leave them out and get the same salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was delicious!....but the tip from the review to add a Tbsp. of real lemon and a Tbsp. of honey really added a sixth star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Was okay. I think it would have been a lot better with less celery seed. Too strong of taste. If i make it again i'd maybe add a few dashes only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I thought this was good but not outstanding a little too much celery seed took over the taste. I may try next time but cut back on both of the celery and seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was really good and a nice change of pace from the regular creamy ranch pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I thought this was too bland. I added creole mustard after I made it. Did perk it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made this exactly as directed with the exception of using more mayo and sour cream. It's very easy to make. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Hubby, myself and other that have tasted this salad absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Needs sliced radishes, but apart from that, it stands without alteration. I loved the addition of celery seed and sweet pickle, although I did tweak that component slightly. I added the pickle and omitted the sweet pickle juice. It's actually quite similar to my family recipe, except that my family recipe contains tuna fish, which I have recently become allergic to, much to my dismay. Definitely, absolutely, and under all circumstances, do not add dill to this. It's fine as it is without making it taste like soap flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I knew the dressing would not be enough for the amount of pasta, so I doubled it, and I did not even mix in the full 16oz of pasta at the very end of mixing. Additionally, I did not add as much celery seed as it calls for just because I thought it was wayyyy too much. Other than that, this recipe was great! I think I added more pickle juice too because I like my macaroni salad sweet. Great for a barbeque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Everyone that tasted it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States