Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe! I will agree with other users in regards to the serving size - the serving for six can actually feed a lot more. I used a little less bell pepper and onion than instructed, and it still turned out great. Everyone loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
I made this for a family barbecue and everyone really enjoed it. This was the first time I have attempted to make a "macaroni salad". The mayo mixed w/sour cream makes a very creamy sauce (a nice "tang" to it as well). I actually increased the dressing mix by 1/2 and this made the salad a little bit more moist. I omitted the onion, olives and celery seed for some do not like them. I used sweet relish instead of sweet pickle and also added an extra two tablespoons of sweet relish to salad. I can't wait to make this easy and wondreful recipe again. It will be on our menu often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
I enjoyed this macaroni salad because of the different vegetables and the sweet pickle. My husband said he prefers traditional mac salad. Good recipe with a lot of different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I love this macaroni salad. For years I have said my grandmother's is the best, but this one is definitely better. I halved this recipe and it was still enough to serve six though, so I agree with others who have said the servings are off. The only changes I made were leaving out the olives and substituting sweet pickle relish for the sweet pickles and juice and using celery salt rather than celery seed (all I had on hand). It turned out great. I will use this forever as my macaroni salad recipe!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
I've made this recipe for two different get-togethers and it was well received at both. I do not like salads that are dripping with mayonnaise. The combination of mayo and sour cream makes this much tastier. The green olives also make a great change from a regular macaroni salad. I do have to agree with a previous reviewer that this can't possibly be only 6 servings as I used an 18-cup bowl and it was more than 3/4 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
!!!We really love this recipe. It does make a HUGE amount, and the dressing should be at LEAST doubled. We leave out celery and add thawed sweet peas and cheese. Great for cookouts. We've made this many times and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I made this for a cover dish dinner, and it did NOT last. Everyone remarked about the flavor and how creamy it was. It is so good. I did change just a couple of things. One, I left out the onion as neither my husband or myself can eat them..and it was n't missed. Also, instead of using pickle juice and the sweet pickle, I used sweet relish. I did increase the dressing half again, as we do not like a dry macaroni salad, and this did not get dry. I made it the day before, and yes, it tastes better the second day after the ingredients have had a chance to sit and blend. I put the carrots through my food processor and they were perfect for this salad. And one little tip. When using celery seed, rub the seeds between your palms to crush them a little. This releases not only the aroma, but the flavor as well. Oh, and if you are making a dish that requires both onion and celery, cut the celery last, and rub some leaves, or even part of the rib on your hands. It will remove the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Great recipe Linda! I used salad macaroni, left out the olives and cut the celery seed to 1T. Wonderul! The flavors meld nicely together. Oh yeah...I also used Dijon mustard instead of ground and I chopped rather than grated the carrots. The egg adds a nice flavor as well. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Pretty good noodle salad. I used only 2 tsp of celery seed, ommitted the olives, used red & green bell peppers, miracle whip instead of mayo, and used lemon juice instead of the pickle juice. Everyone seemed to enjoy this one and its versatile enough that you can use whatever veggies you want. Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States