Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Great flavour, but I agree with other reviewers who recommend either decreasing the pasta to 12oz or increasing the sauce ingredients by half to get a better consistency. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
As suggested by HEBH I also made some modifications. I doubled the amount of mayonaise and sour cream. In addition to the ground mustard I added dijon mustard (2 tsp.). I doubled the amount of sweet pickle juice. I added probably about a cup of chopped sweet pickles. I omitted the pimento-stuffed green olives. I also subsituted a red bell for a green bell pepper. I added a tbsp or two of honey. Yummmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Liked the recipe, good base to start from. I added more mayo, more mustard, some honey, some hotsauce and only did 1 tbsp of celery seeds, instead of two. Good, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warmond, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. I had finished making the salad and when I tasted it, I wonder why it didn't have a kick to it. I had forgotten to add the pickle juice. Once I did that, it was totally awesome. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
A great place to start! As prior suggestions I was generous with my mayo/sour cream measurements. The dried mustard didn't offer enough flavor so I also added 1T dijon mustard. Instead of pickle juice I added 1T lemon juice and 1T apple cider vinegar. I used sweet relish instead of pickle. After tasting I felt it needed a little sweetener so I added 1T honey. I used red pepper because I prefer it to green pepper and it really added to the variety of colors. I did not have celery seed so I omitted. This was delicious. My husband loved it and he is a macaroni salad lover! I was so worried he wouldn't care for it and he just loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This was excellent. I read the reviews before making so I did 1 1/2 times the dressing. The only thing I changed was I added sweet relish. It was a hit and I have been asked to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I rate this salad excellent for once a salad with all natural more healthly taste. My sister who expecting really like it and so did the baby. She stated oh he likes that you could see him moving around. I suggest this salad recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I can't rate this yet because I didn't like what I did. I used large elbow macaroni (that was all I had) and it was much too starchy. I nearly doubled the wet ingredients and still a little dry (and starchy). Unless you are having a party for a least ten big eaters I would at least half this recipe. I have a family of four and even though I 1/2 this it will be enough for at least 3 meals. I'm excited to try again w/ small elbow mac. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Very, very good stuff! Instead of increasing the dressing ingredients I just used 12oz. of macaroni...perfect! There was still enough to feed a small army! I used 3 eggs and a yellow bell pepper since that is what I had on hand and it was a hit...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I made this for a cookout before I even tried it and it was a huge hit! I loved it too! When I went to make it again, I couldn't find the recipe and I was really bummed out. I'm so glad I found it again! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States