Macaroni Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
One word....AWESOME!!! I made this for the 4th of July and my guest loved it. This is a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was a new and yummy side dish for summer grilling. I will definitely make again, I think it would be a great change of pace to bring to a bbq. I did halve the amount of sugar and it was still plenty sweet, will considered reducing even more in the future. Also, I think the ratio of fruit to pasta could be higher and will probably add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was an awsome recipe! The texture of the fruit and the pasta was very pleasing and the taste was quite a lovely fruity flavor. Husband and I both loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
WONDERFUL! My kids were skeptical at first but ended up loving it. I did use the "frog eyes" instead of regular macaroni. Makes a very large batch...will half it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Always a hit! We have it at every occasion, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Years ago, Safeway Stores sold a similar salad in their deli section, called Tropical Pasta Salad - and I have been searching for the recipe. They used shell macaroni, and I suspect they used mayonnaise instead of the cooked sauce. It was a refreshing change from the usual macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sine Baxley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I've made something like this, but with Acine de Pepe pasta (small round balls) which adds a delightfully different texture. Additionally, we use fruit cocktail and boil the pasta in the juice mixture. It's now a Thanksgiving Day dessert tradition in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I thought the recipe looked interesting and it was. It was really good, a nice change. It was almost a dessert though. A couple people asked me for the recipe so I guess it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I served this salad at a Memorial Day Potluck yesterday and it got mixed results; I saw some people poke at it in the bowl and then not take any. Those who ate it really liked it. I think that some just can’t fathom pasta and fruit together. I changed the recipe a little using crushed pineapple instead of the chunks and I substituted Splenda and sugar free Cool-Whip which worked great. Also added sliced strawberries and kiwi as I wanted a “fruitier” salad. I’ll be making this again as all my family really enjoyed it. Try adding extra salt a little at a time if it tastes flat after combining all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nothing wrong with mixing sweet with pasta. I have made a similiar dish as this using a different kind of pasta. It's not much different than a fruit salad, but it has pasta. It's very delish. Great for cookouts or picnics. I didn't do the chilling thing though, I mixed it all together at once. And it keeps well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States