Macaroni Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
One word....AWESOME!!! I made this for the 4th of July and my guest loved it. This is a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This was a new and yummy side dish for summer grilling. I will definitely make again, I think it would be a great change of pace to bring to a bbq. I did halve the amount of sugar and it was still plenty sweet, will considered reducing even more in the future. Also, I think the ratio of fruit to pasta could be higher and will probably add more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was an awsome recipe! The texture of the fruit and the pasta was very pleasing and the taste was quite a lovely fruity flavor. Husband and I both loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sod, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
WONDERFUL! My kids were skeptical at first but ended up loving it. I did use the "frog eyes" instead of regular macaroni. Makes a very large batch...will half it the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Always a hit! We have it at every occasion, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Years ago, Safeway Stores sold a similar salad in their deli section, called Tropical Pasta Salad - and I have been searching for the recipe. They used shell macaroni, and I suspect they used mayonnaise instead of the cooked sauce. It was a refreshing change from the usual macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sine Baxley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I've made something like this, but with Acine de Pepe pasta (small round balls) which adds a delightfully different texture. Additionally, we use fruit cocktail and boil the pasta in the juice mixture. It's now a Thanksgiving Day dessert tradition in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I thought the recipe looked interesting and it was. It was really good, a nice change. It was almost a dessert though. A couple people asked me for the recipe so I guess it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I served this salad at a Memorial Day Potluck yesterday and it got mixed results; I saw some people poke at it in the bowl and then not take any. Those who ate it really liked it. I think that some just can’t fathom pasta and fruit together. I changed the recipe a little using crushed pineapple instead of the chunks and I substituted Splenda and sugar free Cool-Whip which worked great. Also added sliced strawberries and kiwi as I wanted a “fruitier” salad. I’ll be making this again as all my family really enjoyed it. Try adding extra salt a little at a time if it tastes flat after combining all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Nothing wrong with mixing sweet with pasta. I have made a similiar dish as this using a different kind of pasta. It's not much different than a fruit salad, but it has pasta. It's very delish. Great for cookouts or picnics. I didn't do the chilling thing though, I mixed it all together at once. And it keeps well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States