Macaroni Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a great macaroni salad, I was looking for a recipe that did not call for celery, because I did not have any on hand and did not want to make a trip to the grocery store just for celery. I did make some alterations, because I personally do not like salad dressing ( miracle whip, or others of the same ) so I used real mayonnaise with olive oil. When making the dressing for for the salad I taste tested as I knew it may be on the bland side ( using mayo instead ) so I added one package of .08 oz dry Italian dressing flavoring packet ( Nature Valley ) and one tablespoon of distilled white vinager. When making the vege mix I only had Roma ( plum ) tomatoes on hand and the recipe did not specify the tomato type so I used 3 large Roma tomatoes. I also added about one cup of matchstick carrots. The end result was fantastic. This is now the only Mac salad I will make. Love It. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was a hit at dinner. I omitted the onion and added 1 red pepper. and used only 1 green pepper. I also did add a 1/2 packet of hidden valley ranch powder as others suggested. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Excellent Salad! I like my salad with a little more zip so I added 2 tablespoons of white wine vinegar. Very smooth and creamy, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hutch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I used half gold tomatoes since my neighbor has a whole mess of them, and it added another color. This was OK but I'm mostly in agreement with those saying it lacks some flavor as is. Miracle Whip has a bit of a tang, but this did not come off in the salad. It took me a bit to figure out that I *think* it might be the milk just killing that natural tang and making it a bit of a dead mayo thing. It seems several are now adding ranch dressing mix to it, which would kick it up a bit, but that's not this recipe. I didn't think of that and had a hard time sprucing it up. As one person said, though, it is a good way to use up cucumbers and I didn't think it was too many but mine were smallish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I made this for our Mothers Day gathering. Everyone enjoyed it. The only thing I will do differently is to add red onion or a sweet onion and perhaps some ranch dressing. My husband wanted me to add come cheese next time. It was a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This was good. I did added hb egg to it. I would cut the onion some it was a bit overwhelming. Overall tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is a good BASE for a macaroni salad but the recipe as-is is lacking flavor. I cut out the tomatoes and used 2 celery stalks, a red pepper and 1/2 of a green pepper. I used about a tablespoon of ranch dessing mix and a little yellow mustard to taste, added some black pepper, dried parsley, and white wine vinegar. This needs to sit an hour or 2 before serving to let the flavors develop. if you use the ranch mix I think you can leave out the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very creamy and delish but we like to add a can of tuma, fresh dill, and some chopped dill pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Family loved This! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was ...okay... none of my daycare kids liked it and my boyfriend and I didn't really either. It was thrown out. It was lacking something important but we couldn't figure out what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States