Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Did not like this recipe at all. Very bland. Quick and easy yes, but no taste! I also found it very dry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShamrockAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Easy, fast, and good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ms roz
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Loved it! I also added red onion, red, green and yellow pepper finely chopped, topped it off with smoked paprika!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms roz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This recipe wasn't too dry for us, however it was a little bland. I'm trying to pinpoint exactly how it could've been better. There are sooooo many ways you can make macaroni salad. I did have to add a bit of salt, probably could've been jazzed up in other ways too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I wonder if the 5 cups of macaroni is a typo, I believe it should read "5 cups cooked macaroni." That is the assumption I used when making this recipe, but still I ended up adding more mayo and some milk on the advice of another reviewer. Also, I used some dill relish in place of the pickle (same thing, right?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
My mother-n-law is full German and just moved back to the us from Germany. This is just like her recipe. But she DOES NOT add raw egg. I think that was a misunderstading in your recipe. When I make it, I add Cilantro and use miracle whip. And when I want to switch it up I use turkey. It's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I tried this recipe for a 4th of July BBQ. I was not that thrilled about the raw egg so I left it out. It is good and easy, but it needs a little something extra. I ended up having to use an entire bottle of Mayo because it was so dry. I will make it again because it is easy but I plan on tweaking it a bit and adding some spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Being concerned about raw eggs I just used more mayonnaise instead of the egg for the dressing so I'm not sure my review counts. This is a good, basic macaroni salad the way I made it, though the pasta tends to soak up all the dressing and you then have to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I wanted to try this recipe because it was different. We found it to be very bland and dry. After tasting, I added more mayonnaise, garlic salt, celery seed, and a few other spices. After chilling it was dry again from the pasta soaking up the mayonnaise, ended up adding a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
easy to cook and economical. everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States