Macaroni Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
kids loved this. I wasn't crazy about the gritty custardy stuff, but they definately didn't mind. I think it was good. I just have a problem with certain textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner LOVED this mac & cheese. I did cut pasta down to 16oz. and I heard on the food channel to liberally salt your pasta water for flavor which is what I always do now & it makes a big difference. I added about 1-2 TBS sea salt to about 2 gallons of water, and then I added only pepper to my mac & cheese. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
My boyfriend has been dying for me to make this "Macaroni Pie" that his MOTHER used to make for him. He loved it! It was so easy to make. I cut the recipe in half but now realize that I should have went ahead and made the serving for 8! I like more of a cheesy/saucy macaroni and cheese but this one is good! As long as he is happy! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
My family enjoyed this Mac and Cheese. My husband said "Hon, smells great, what's for dinner?" when he came home from work. I liked the idea that it had just a few items. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
needs more cheese (jmo) but i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is the same recipe we've used forever. However, I did cut back on the amount of macaroni...32 oz. is waaay too many noodles; using 16 oz. is better, still get good results with 8 oz. and cut back on milk to 2 cups and eggs to 2 and you still get a good sized casserole. We like the top crusty, so I always add extra cheese on top. Also use sharp or extra sharp cheese for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
i took other reviewer's advice, reducing the noodles and adding spices. made a wonderful comforting dish! i added fresh garlic, pepper, salt, dried minced onion and red pepper on top of the noodles before the cheese. I also covered the dish with foil for the first 40 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I have been making this for a couple of years now. My family loves it. When it comes to making homemade macaroni and cheese this recipee can't be beat. I do however make one small adjustment because I am a cheese lover. I substitute Cracker Barrel sharp cheese instead of cheddar. It is easy and tastes great! Don't let the eggs scare you it is great:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a great base recipe to allow your culinary skills to be put to the test. Angel hair pasta is about the only pasta I can digest, so that is what I used. I broke it into small pieces and boiled it in chicken broth to add flavor and to the milk and egg mixture I added approx. 2 Tbs Ranch dressing, 2 teas. chives and approx. 3/4 teas. Dominant One from Marion Kay spices. I also substitued 4 cheese Mexican mix for the cheddar because that's all I had. I didn't taste it before I put it on the table and watched for hubby's reaction. He absolutely loved it, went back for seconds and said it's a keeper recipe. I tasted it and knew it was next in line for a potluck dinner! Very tasty, just perfect! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.B.Estes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe is as simple as it reads and just right for any occasion. If you like to add some extra whatevers, sure add more but if you want to please a simple pallet of taste, take this macaroni and cheese pie for what it's worth, simple and delightfully delicious. Also when you make extra you will have a well kept dish for a couple of days snacking. My crew approved and went for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth C Caines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States