Macaroni Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
My boyfriend has been dying for me to make this "Macaroni Pie" that his MOTHER used to make for him. He loved it! It was so easy to make. I cut the recipe in half but now realize that I should have went ahead and made the serving for 8! I like more of a cheesy/saucy macaroni and cheese but this one is good! As long as he is happy! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
My family enjoyed this Mac and Cheese. My husband said "Hon, smells great, what's for dinner?" when he came home from work. I liked the idea that it had just a few items. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
This recipe was too bland. It needs more salt, a little pepper, and needs to be covered when cooked because the noodles were really hard on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
needs more cheese (jmo) but i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I thought this was very good, but I did make quite an alteration. I only used 16 oz of macaroni. I thought that was still too much. When I make it again, I will use only 12 oz of macaroni, keeping all the other measurements the same, in order to get the amount of custard and cheese that I like. I also added paprika and minced dried onion for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I used just regular cheddar, which I think is one of the reasons this dish lacked a lot of flavor. It was a little bland, but I can see with some really great extra sharp cheddar & some other "add ins" that your family likes,this could be a home run. I can see this being a very "kid friendly" meal too. And super easy to prepare. Next time I prepare this dish I will spice it up with some red pepper flakes on only make 20-24 oz. of pasta...I had tons of noodles left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is the same recipe we've used forever. However, I did cut back on the amount of macaroni...32 oz. is waaay too many noodles; using 16 oz. is better, still get good results with 8 oz. and cut back on milk to 2 cups and eggs to 2 and you still get a good sized casserole. We like the top crusty, so I always add extra cheese on top. Also use sharp or extra sharp cheese for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
i took other reviewer's advice, reducing the noodles and adding spices. made a wonderful comforting dish! i added fresh garlic, pepper, salt, dried minced onion and red pepper on top of the noodles before the cheese. I also covered the dish with foil for the first 40 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I have been making this for a couple of years now. My family loves it. When it comes to making homemade macaroni and cheese this recipee can't be beat. I do however make one small adjustment because I am a cheese lover. I substitute Cracker Barrel sharp cheese instead of cheddar. It is easy and tastes great! Don't let the eggs scare you it is great:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This gets points for ease of making, but definitely gets marked down for blandness. We added peas and diced green pepper to add some veggie content, and a sprinkle of paprika for color/flavor. Would be much better with some herbs and spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States