Macaroni Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
We usually have boxed macaroni & cheese with dinner at least 3 nights a week because my son LOVES mac & cheese. I was really excited to try this recipe just to change things up a little. The look on his face after one bite said it all. This is the blandest mac I've ever had and if my son (the king of mac & cheese) doesn't like then I know something is wrong. It has potential to be good but it def needs things added to it for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I don't kno if i did something wrong but I followed the recipe as follows and I did not care for this. There was no flavor and it was completely dry. I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I’ve been cooking (& reviewing recipes) for a number of years. I say that only because I’ve never given a recipe this low of a mark. We each ate 2 spoonfuls & threw the remainder away. I added lots of extra pepper, garlic/onion powder & even several shakes of LA Gold (hot sauce). This was bland & the overall texture wasn’t good. I’ll stick with Kraft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe is as simple as it reads and just right for any occasion. If you like to add some extra whatevers, sure add more but if you want to please a simple pallet of taste, take this macaroni and cheese pie for what it's worth, simple and delightfully delicious. Also when you make extra you will have a well kept dish for a couple of days snacking. My crew approved and went for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth C Caines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was a very good recipe. My kids really enjoyed it. However, I did cut back on the macaroni, 32oz is way too much. I still used the 3 cups of milk and 3 cups of cheese which made it a little creamier. I also used salt because it is very bland with it. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is a great base recipe to allow your culinary skills to be put to the test. Angel hair pasta is about the only pasta I can digest, so that is what I used. I broke it into small pieces and boiled it in chicken broth to add flavor and to the milk and egg mixture I added approx. 2 Tbs Ranch dressing, 2 teas. chives and approx. 3/4 teas. Dominant One from Marion Kay spices. I also substitued 4 cheese Mexican mix for the cheddar because that's all I had. I didn't taste it before I put it on the table and watched for hubby's reaction. He absolutely loved it, went back for seconds and said it's a keeper recipe. I tasted it and knew it was next in line for a potluck dinner! Very tasty, just perfect! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.B.Estes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Per other reviewers suggestions, I used 16 oz. macaroni & added extra salt, paprika & pepper. I also covered with foil. I'm still looking for a macaroni & cheese recipe that's as flavorful as using Velveeta cheese, but without all the artificial ingredients. Kraft Dinner is great also, but I stay away from foods like that now. I love the taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This gets points for ease of making, but definitely gets marked down for blandness. We added peas and diced green pepper to add some veggie content, and a sprinkle of paprika for color/flavor. Would be much better with some herbs and spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I have been making this for a couple of years now. My family loves it. When it comes to making homemade macaroni and cheese this recipee can't be beat. I do however make one small adjustment because I am a cheese lover. I substitute Cracker Barrel sharp cheese instead of cheddar. It is easy and tastes great! Don't let the eggs scare you it is great:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States