Macaroni Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made this for a church pot luck, I doubled everything in the recipe except the macaroni, which I kept the same. I layered the noodles and the cheese in my crock pot and then poured the egg & milk mixture over them. I cooked it on high for about an hour and then turned it down. I ended up having to stir it to get the middle cooked. I was afraid that the cheese was going to separate and have a lumpy consistancy, and that is what happened. The flavor was okay, but I did not like that it did not get creamy. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This wasn't so good. It was rather bland. I will not make again. I've had better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I too found the cheese flavor lacking, however I made this in order to use up some ingredients and make a decent dinner for my kids and both objectives were met. In fact my boys say it's really good and they like it better than Kraft. They rated this recipe as 4/5, so there you go! I changed the recipe to feed 2 but there was enough for me and a light snack for my husband who said it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elgin, Morayshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was a bit bland for us. I added different spices, but it didnt do much. I also wish it was a little creamier than it was. It wasnt bad but not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynsMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Husband loved it!! I did add different cheeses, garlic and onion. I would use two eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Good stuff. Used sharp cheddar for extra flavor, added some pepper to the egg mixture, and covered with foil for the first 45 minutes. Also, the first time I made it, I thought the 3 eggs made it a little too, well, eggy, so I cut it down to 2 the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dionada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I quartered the recipe to serve just 2 -- it was definitely easy, and took care of my craving for mac & cheese. I don't think it's made to impress, but with just milk and cheddar and an egg, you don't expect much. I added a little bit of chili seasoning since I had a packet around, and it was pretty tasty. I think I also added some mozzarella (in addition to cheddar) the first time I made this, b/c I thought it wasn't as cheesy this second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I have been looking for that lasagna like/dense mac n chse recipe that I used to have as a child. If you are looking for a gooey creamy or runny recipe, this may not be it. I will be using a little less pasta and adding some spices to add some flavor. Gals/guys that gave bad reviews; "Pie" is in the title. Stay tuned... I really enjoyed this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
kids loved this. I wasn't crazy about the gritty custardy stuff, but they definately didn't mind. I think it was good. I just have a problem with certain textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
was good and an interesting twist on mac & cheese. not to hard to make either, will probably make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States