Macaroni Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is my go to mac for home and is also a crowd pleaser at potlucks. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I love that this recipe doesn't call for processed cheese. It is very simple to make and delicious! I didn't add paprika because although I like the flavor of paprika in mac & cheese, it tends to give it this odd gritty texture. Oh! When you make the cheese sauce, let your butter melt (over medium-low heat) next add your flour in stirring constantly until it turns a light, nutty-brown color then very slowly add milk stirring constantly until thickened. When it's thick pour it over the macaroni. I didn't bother to bake it. I just mixed it into the pot of drained macaroni noodles. Yummy! The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheCook
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
When I made this my husband flipped. He said it was the best mac n cheese he'd ever had. I am gluten sensitive so I used Ronzoni Gluten Free Penne and instead of flour I used corn starch. I used a combo of shredded cheddar and American cheese, baked at 350 for 35 mins. Do not expect this to be "macaroni and cheese" like the stuff in the red box in the freezer section at the store. This is more like potatoes au-gratin - only it's made with pasta. This recipe is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was really good. I used shredded sharp cheddar and added a little sour cream and onion powder. I've made a lot of macaroni and cheese recipes I think I like this best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Three stars only because I had to make modifications to make it really good. I added some bacon bits, and put a layer of seasoned bread crumbs on top before baking it, but once those two were added, this was a great recipe. It was the first dish that was eaten up at the potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Wehrheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was easy and declicious, after a couple of adjustments. For one, I added more seasoning to the milk mixture, and for two I also added some shredded cheese to the milk mixture. And I used shredded cheese instead of sliced as I didn't have any sliced cheese on hand. The flavor was outstanding, but as others have mentioned, the texture was a bit grainy. I must say, since the flavor was so good the grainy texture didn't bother me. It still tasted great the next day, warmed up or cold. I'm only giving it three stars and not more because of the changes I made. With the changes it was closer to five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Not bad, I used wheat noodles, because I need high fiber content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I read through the reviews and I'm in agreeance that the cheese NEEDS to be added into the sauce and then the casserole topped w/ cheese. I tried the sauce as written and it was bland so I added in 1 tsp worchestershire sauce and 1/4 tsp dry mustard powder, I also scaled the milk back to 1 1/2 cups. Quality mac & cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was really good! The only things I changed were using shredded cheddar cheese and I sprinkled bread crumbs on top. Next time I would add some cheese to the sauce before pouring it in to make sure the bottom had some cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States