Macaroni And Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
It was just two kids and myself this evening and I was originally looking for a stove-top mac and cheese (without Velveeta) to quickly throw together when I came across this recipe. This is very easy and super fast with pretty good results. I added approx. 6 oz. freshly grated sharp white cheddar cheese and left out the bread crumbs and didn't bake it. Just cooked and drained the pasta, mixed the sauce (plus the cheddar cheese) poured it over the pasta, stirred and left it on low for a few min while finishing up the rest of the meal. Worked out great. I also added lots of black pepper and a little dry mustard right before serving. I would use this again for a very fast, easy side when we are craving mac and cheese and I don't have any of the blue box mac and cheese in the house. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I made this as the meatless dish for my son's birthday party (feeding about 60 people). I upped the recipe and made a few changes. I used 2 lbs of macaroni, 4 (11 oz) cans of cheddar cheese soup, 3 cups of milk, 1 tb and 1 tsp spicy brown mustard, 1/2 tsp pepper, 2 pkgs of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I topped the macaroni with about 1/2 pkg sharp cheddar cheese and an entire can of cheddar fried onions. Tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I would not typically use cheddar soup for mac & cheese but my kids kept complaining my mac & cheese was dry. So i tried this recipe and like others I was surprised that it was pretty good! Huge hit with the kids. Creamy and moist. I did not add the dry mustard (kids do not like the taste) and I did not have bread crumbs. I would make again for the kids = quick and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is surprisingly good. I didn't expect much from a can of soup and a dab of mustard, but this dish was actually decent. I would make this again. I did add an oz of velveeta cheese since it was all by it's lonesome in the fridge and needed to be used in something. This was creamy and a fast simple way to fix mac and cheese. Soooo much better than the blue box! I didn't bake mine and I didn't use the bread crumb topping, I just served it after mixing in the sauce. Thanks Corwynne this is another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Easy to make and tastes better after it sits for a day. I ended up using 2 cans of the cheddar soup and 8 oz. container of sour cream to the recipe. I added cheddar cheese to the mixture and then sprinkled cheese on top. I also added parmesan cheese on top once it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I usually hate it when someone rates something 5 stars and then procedes to tell you the tons of changes they made, but here goes: I made this for a 4th of July gathering and made a few changes. I used 1 lb. of large macaroni. I used three cans of soup and almost 2 cups of milk since my husband said it wasn't cream enough after a test run. Since other reviews said that the flavor wasn't strong enough, I grated a block of extra sharp cheddar cheese and used about 3/4 of it in the sauce and sprinkled the rest on top. I also used 2 T. of spicy brown mustard instead of regular. You'll need to make extra crumb topping if you make this much. It turned out really well and there were NO leftovers and several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I thought this was great! I could not tell that this had been made with canned soup when it was finished. I used evaporated milk. I multiplied this recipe by 5 and cooked that amount divided between two Nesco roasters for a crowd of 30 people. (I did add 2 pounds of shredded cheddar cheese when I did this for added cheesiness. The equivelent for a standard recipe would be around 6-8 ounces.) Thanks for a great shortcut recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was ok - nothing to write home about. I used 98% fat free broccoli and cheese soup and also added in Sharp Cheddar cheese as well as 2 slices of Provolone (needed to get rid of it) it still didn't seem to have a very Cheesy taste. I am glad I tried it but won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
had to use spaghetti, woopsie! tomatoes on top since they were in need of using. I prefer mac from scratch but this is a good tight budget recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I sometimes make a mac'n cheese using the cheddar soup as well, but I like this one better. The one thing I will still do, however, is use cheddar flavored fried onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States