Macaroni And Cheese I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe was great! I especially liked the crunchy cheese and bread crumb topping. I added more cheese than asked for, and added 1/4 cup Monterrey Jack in the macaroni mixture, also. I added 1/2 tsp. onion salt since my husband loves that in macaroni and cheese. Sprinkle the top with fresh ground pepper. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My family actually loved this! (And my husband is a hard sell ;P) I took some shortcuts by using onion and garlic tomatoes and also italian seasoned breadcrumbs. I also used in total 2 cups of sharp cheddar in medium shells and they cupped nicely with cheese yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Caramelized onions, diced tomatoes, and a crunchy topping make for such a delicious dish! I tend to use recipes as mere guides, so the changes I made were: • adding about 1/3 cup of diced American cheese to the Cheddar (makes it creamier w/o the Cheddar oils) • a full tsp of Italian seasoning instead of 1/2 tsp • I didn't have breadcrumbs so used dry seasoned stuffing mix The flavor was fantastic, but it was a little dry. Next time I'm using 3/4 to 1 cup milk and cutting the baking time down to the point at which it's merely heated throughout. Come winter this will be in my regular rotation of dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
My family loves this! 2 cups macaroni makes a lot, so I used 1 cup milk, 3 cups grated cheddar cheese, 2 cans chopped tomatoes, 1/4 t dry mustard, with everything else as original recipe....using rice pasta and toasted rice bread for the bread crumbs, makes a perfectly divine gluten-free recipe....thanks, lise, for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe! I added 3 fresh tomatos diced and extra cheese as some people suggested. I loved the crusty topping and the warm mushy insides! Everyone went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I really liked this I did add a 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper which gave it just a bite...I did not have enough cheddar for the top so mixed with parmessan cheese(fresh not out of the can) really gave it a crunch...I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very good. I used garlic powder since I had no cloves on hand. I didn't really measure anything, but it turned out well. I added extra cheese in and on top of it. Baked for 30+ minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Tumwater, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I loved this version of mac &cheese. I made it as stated with some adjustments. I was creamy & seasoned just right. I added approx 2Tbs. flour to the sauted onions stirring til slightly bubbly and slightly thickened. I used two fresh diced tomatoes and increased the milk to 1 cup. I also added 1/4 c parmesean cheese & baked it for 30minutes. I'd never had it with tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
i did not use butter. canola oil instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States