Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I am the original submitter of this recipe, so here are some tips to follow, since All Recipes changes the recipe a bit when they approve it. 1.) You have to measure the ingredients by weight. They've put the weights in the footnotes. If you measure out, say, three egg whites instead of 50g of egg whites, you might be off enough to mess up the cookie, and it won't puff up correctly (or at all). 2.) YES YOU DO HAVE TO SIFT THE INGREDIENTS! I'm so lazy. I've tried to do it without sifting. It never works out, trust me. Sift that powdered sugar and almond powder together. You won't regret it. 2.) The "silicone baking mat" in step one was originally a Silpat. I have tried making these on every surface known to man, including my cookie favorite, parchment paper. You need the Silpat or you won't be able to get the cookies off the sheet. 3.) People debate on whether it's necessary to let them set for an hour before baking. We tried setting them from 1 to 240 minutes. One hour is perfect. 4.) It is possible to mix it too much, and the cookie won't puff up when baked. Use as few strokes as possible when folding the almond into the egg whites. 5.) I highly recommend finding already-ground almonds, rather than grinding them yourself. It was our experience that grinding our own almonds resulted in an inferior cookie. They have to be ground to a very fine powder, and it's nearly impossible to do with regular kitchen equipment. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1032 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Perfect I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is my third macaron recipe, and FINALLY, I got lift and feet and no cracks, but ONLY after I bought a scale and weighed everything. Volume measurements didn't work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've tried a couple of macaron recipes and this has been the only one that has worked! They turned out looking great. Biting into the shells, they seem a bit soft though, not sure if anyone else has experienced this. But otherwise a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly for the first time and they came out perfectly! Some were stuck to the paper but most survived fully intact. I didn't have to wait an hour before a skin formed though, it took about 20 min but I'm told it varies depending on the air in your kitchen anyway. I also beat the eggs to stiff peaks as opposed to soft ones... I think it gave me more leeway when folding the almond flour/icing sugar in?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is just so magnificent!! Turned out very excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used gel food coloring to color the macarons and only needed a little bit. I added that at the very end of the folding (macaronage) process. I wanted two different colors, so I separated some of the batter in another bowl and carefully stirred in the colors. I do not own a scale so I had to follow the volume measurements rather than the weight measurements. It is not advisable to do so with macarons but I didn't have a choice. I made this recipe twice and the first time my macarons were lumpy/grainy. The second time I grounded up my almond meal (Bob's Mill) some more in my food processor to get a finer texture and that helped a lot. I also made sure that I folded in the almond flour and powdered sugar mixture very well into the whites mixture but was careful not to overmix. I made a strawberry buttercream to fill the pink ones and a lemon/lime buttercream for the green ones. I also used apricot preserves the first time I made them to fill the yellow ones but we didn't care for that. My next ones will have chocolate ganache and hopefully I will have my kitchen scale to ensure better measurements. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I have not yet tried this recipe, but intend to do so within the next week. I would like to know how the vibrant colors are achieved in the pictured macarons. What type of food coloring was used and at what point in the mixing process was it added? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chupsie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe last week and without using a scale and although they didn't taste bad, they looked horrible! However, this week I was extremely meticulous about following every single direction and even some other tips from other people and they came out great! You do need to give in and buy a scale! In the long run you will have pretty macarons and you will save money from going to a baker just so you can enjoy some! The baking of a macaron is going to be different from everyone. I did half the batch on a silipat and half on parchment paper. The parchment paper batch came off easier and looked much nicer. The silipat batch had a problem sticking and a few cracked (those were probably done from me). Anyway, do what works best for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chupsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These came out great! This was my first attempt at macarons and I was afraid because I always hear how hard they are to make. I can't believe I was able to do it on my first try! I weighed the ingredients instead of measuring as the author of this recipe suggested: 100 grams egg whites 50 grams white sugar 200 grams confectioners' sugar 110 grams ground almonds. I also did not have a silicone baking sheet so I lightly greased parchment paper and it worked great. I left them in the oven on 170 degrees for a long time (I think about an hour )because they were too moist in the middle still after the baking time. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States