Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The recipe is perfect if you follow the additional instructions the baker submitted below. I gave it four stars only because she also added to use food coloring gel...it is more common practice of French bakeries to use natural foods to color their pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
After trying four other different recipes, these macarons turned out really well for me! Although my piping skills need to be improved. I added gel food coloring before adding the almond & sugar to the egg whites. I baked mine for about 20 minutes (after ten minutes it still stuck to the parchment paper). Also, using butter cream was too sweet for me, so I filled mine with vanilla whipped cream. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe 3x in a day and it worked really well. I made a purple macaron with a purple yam filling. It was soo good...the purple yam has coconut milk, butter and condensed milk..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have tried many versions of macarons, only with this single recipe I found successful and pleasing. Instead of just plain vanilla flavour, I dared to try and substitute 10 grams cocoa powder and 100 grams almond powder instead of 110 grams almond powder which ended with wonderful results. Also baking one tray at a time helped a lot; not a single one cracked in between baking times. I have planned to make this recipe much more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
i followed the directions, but noticed after 10 minutes they were still uncooked in middle, so I baked another 5-8 minutes and they turned out fine ! Thanks. It was easier than I thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
It turned pretty well and pretty. My daughter and I had fun making this. I would like to play with this recipe such as flavoring it and pairing it with different fillings. Make sure your sieve your powdered sugar and almond flour really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and followed it with minor changes. I used a cookie sheet with parchment paper instead of the silicone pan (When I compared this recipe with others, they all used the cookie sheet with parchment so I went ahead and used that.) Also, I made sure to bang the cookie sheets hard on the counter-top several times to make sure all of the air bubbles came to the surface. This prevents the cracks that some of the reviewers talked about. When the air bubbles come to the top, I took a tooth pin and pierced the air bubble. I used the gram measurements instead of the ones allrecipes printed. The first batch I made were overcooked. 10 minutes didn't work for my oven but 7.5 was perfect. Note, buy a oven thermometer to make sure your oven is the exact temperature. My second batch was perfection! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have made these now about half a dozen times and they come out a little better each time I try it. I have a few suggestions to make them fool proof. Start with room temperature eggs, add 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar when whipping the eggs, (it stabilizes the mixture). I used superfine sugar or Castor sugar to make the meringue smooth, and sifted the almond meal and powdered sugar through a sieve to get out the pieces of almond that were larger. (A hand sifter cannot sift the meal properly.) When making slightly larger Macarons, add extra minutes to the time. I have even turned off the oven and cracked the door and left the cookies in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes to assure they come off the pan easily. I used a Silpat for some and parchment for others. Both are good! Once you see the results? you'll be hooked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by pearlsandsilverroses
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
First time making macarons and these turned out great! Followed the recipe exactly, only let sit for 45 mins but probably could have put them in at 30. Baked at 285ish for 10 mins exactly. No cracks, did get the feet. :) Used a strawberry buttercream filling. Does anyone know about food coloring? I would have liked to turn them pink but wasn't sure when to add the color and if water based was okay. Ground my own almonds with a food processor and coffee bean grinder, that seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearlsandsilverroses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
It worked for me!!! I weighed my ingredients,added cream of tartar to my egg whites while betting them and after piping the batter onto the cookie sheets lined with parchment paper I gave the cookie sheet a good hits against the table (this is supposed to get the bubbles out and prevent cracking. I filled mine with Nutella yum yum :) I have never actually tasted a macaron before I took on the challenge of making them. And after creating the perfect macaroon I know what all the fuss is about. THEY ARE AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxy_girl04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States