Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by vedika_luthra
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made macarons dozens and dozens of times- this one had the best results. They dried within 20 minutes, and I baked them for 20 minutes. I absolutely loved them- made chocolate macarons using 4.5 tbsp of dark cocoa, and filled them with a dark chocolate raspberry ganache. EXCELLENT! go to http://hotchocolatehits.blogspot.com/ to see my adjustments and photos. I may even make a video soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
tasted like macroons, but were flat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and it turned out perfect. I made it twice and there were never any cracks. I've tried other recipes and they never turned out well. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. As far as the fillings, I used Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Le sigh. I thought it was too sweet, and although used a calibrated oven thermometer, it took over twice as long for my macarons to cook. I'm willing to keep trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is just so magnificent!! Turned out very excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly for the first time and they came out perfectly! Some were stuck to the paper but most survived fully intact. I didn't have to wait an hour before a skin formed though, it took about 20 min but I'm told it varies depending on the air in your kitchen anyway. I also beat the eggs to stiff peaks as opposed to soft ones... I think it gave me more leeway when folding the almond flour/icing sugar in?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These came out great! This was my first attempt at macarons and I was afraid because I always hear how hard they are to make. I can't believe I was able to do it on my first try! I weighed the ingredients instead of measuring as the author of this recipe suggested: 100 grams egg whites 50 grams white sugar 200 grams confectioners' sugar 110 grams ground almonds. I also did not have a silicone baking sheet so I lightly greased parchment paper and it worked great. I left them in the oven on 170 degrees for a long time (I think about an hour )because they were too moist in the middle still after the baking time. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chupsie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe last week and without using a scale and although they didn't taste bad, they looked horrible! However, this week I was extremely meticulous about following every single direction and even some other tips from other people and they came out great! You do need to give in and buy a scale! In the long run you will have pretty macarons and you will save money from going to a baker just so you can enjoy some! The baking of a macaron is going to be different from everyone. I did half the batch on a silipat and half on parchment paper. The parchment paper batch came off easier and looked much nicer. The silipat batch had a problem sticking and a few cracked (those were probably done from me). Anyway, do what works best for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chupsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Followed directions exactly, even using volume measurement because I don't have a scale, and they turned out great. Only one change- I baked them for about 8 minutes longer because the first pan was still wet in the center. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
The ingredients overall worked, but baking them was a complete flop the first time around. They came out perfectly the second time. What I did differently the second time. Piping: I used a real pastry bag. I tried to shortcut it the first time and it was a sloppy mess. I also rubber-banded of the end of the bag so the batter wouldn't leak out and cut it right before piping. I made a template on a piece of parchment paper with circles as a guide for piping so they are more uniform in size. Template was taped to the table and I placed other sheets of parchment on top of template to pipe. On round one, I noticed the macarons I piped toward the end of the sheet were more loose, so on round two I took a break and iced my hand so that the heat from my hand wasn't loosening up the batter. Baking: preheat oven to 375. Before putting sheet in, reduce heat to 325. Bake 5 min. Rotate tray. bake 5 min. Take sheet out and reheat oven to 375 for next sheet. I found I could not bake more than one sheet at a time. Baking sheets: They did not get "feet" on any sheet other than an old, thin baking sheet. My thermal sheets and baking stones did not work. After filling: let macarons sit for 24 before serving. Something happens to them to soften the cookie ever so slightly that makes them just like the European macarons my friend was craving. Serve within 48 hours or freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States