Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
the prep and waiting for the skin to harden is the most irritating thing about this recipe, hence the 4 stars. they didn't taste all that great, but came out beautiful and baked perfectly. i think it all really depends on what filling you use. they are just so sugary and sticky. when they are filled and packaged, they are they gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These came out great! I followed the recipe exactly (just added some green gel coloring). I also used the weight measurements in order to be more exact. I think next time though I will either increase the oven temp or the bake time. They came out a bit soft. I'd like to get them a little more crisp on the outside. But other than that, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vedika_luthra
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made macarons dozens and dozens of times- this one had the best results. They dried within 20 minutes, and I baked them for 20 minutes. I absolutely loved them- made chocolate macarons using 4.5 tbsp of dark cocoa, and filled them with a dark chocolate raspberry ganache. EXCELLENT! go to http://hotchocolatehits.blogspot.com/ to see my adjustments and photos. I may even make a video soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
tasted like macroons, but were flat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and it turned out perfect. I made it twice and there were never any cracks. I've tried other recipes and they never turned out well. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. As far as the fillings, I used Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Le sigh. I thought it was too sweet, and although used a calibrated oven thermometer, it took over twice as long for my macarons to cook. I'm willing to keep trying though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is just so magnificent!! Turned out very excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly for the first time and they came out perfectly! Some were stuck to the paper but most survived fully intact. I didn't have to wait an hour before a skin formed though, it took about 20 min but I'm told it varies depending on the air in your kitchen anyway. I also beat the eggs to stiff peaks as opposed to soft ones... I think it gave me more leeway when folding the almond flour/icing sugar in?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
These came out great! This was my first attempt at macarons and I was afraid because I always hear how hard they are to make. I can't believe I was able to do it on my first try! I weighed the ingredients instead of measuring as the author of this recipe suggested: 100 grams egg whites 50 grams white sugar 200 grams confectioners' sugar 110 grams ground almonds. I also did not have a silicone baking sheet so I lightly greased parchment paper and it worked great. I left them in the oven on 170 degrees for a long time (I think about an hour )because they were too moist in the middle still after the baking time. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chupsie
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe last week and without using a scale and although they didn't taste bad, they looked horrible! However, this week I was extremely meticulous about following every single direction and even some other tips from other people and they came out great! You do need to give in and buy a scale! In the long run you will have pretty macarons and you will save money from going to a baker just so you can enjoy some! The baking of a macaron is going to be different from everyone. I did half the batch on a silipat and half on parchment paper. The parchment paper batch came off easier and looked much nicer. The silipat batch had a problem sticking and a few cracked (those were probably done from me). Anyway, do what works best for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chupsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States