Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for Macarons; I have made them several times and each time i get perfect round mounds with no cracks and cute little "feet". I have, however, made a slight adjustment on the sugar level and have also been able to add flavorings to make different varieties. Weighing the ingredients is key. Ive found that you MUST weigh the almond flour & powdered sugar. Its not, however, that crucial to weigh the egg whites (i never have. my thought process was, umm if i'm short 3-4 grams am i reaaally gonna try and get 3 grams from another egg? Meh!) 3 egg whites will do the trick :) It is also not crucial to add a total of 50 grams of regular sugar to the eggs while youre beating them. This is where I have tested many different weights, and for me and my friends/family, 35 GRAMS is PLENTY sweet enough. Seriously! it already has 200 g powdered sugar! By decreasing the amount of sugar to 35 g only, the almond flavor shines a LOT brighter. Trust me. To make chocolate macaroons: sift in one tablespoon of cocoa powder into the almond flour & p. sugar. Easy peasy. Stir in a small amount of Brown Gel food coloring into the egg whites. To make coffee macaroons (my fav!): sift one teaspoon of instant espresso powder (you know, the one with the green cap!) into the almond flour & p. sugar. Brown food coloring into the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilyavasweetshop
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This recipe is great! I've always wanted to attempt the famous Macaron but was admittedly terrified! But I am proud of my first attempt, and I know what I did wrong so I can fix it the second time round. What went wrong for me? Piping uniform circles, not letting them set long enough, under baking (10 minutes wasn't long enough for mine) Definitely measure your ingredients on a scale, sift, sift, sift! Let them set, and watch the baking process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilyavasweetshop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am so happy with this recipe, it was my first time ever making these & I was exstatic to see when I opened the oven they were puffed up the way they should be. I used a kitchen scale. The only thing that went wrong was that I used a sandwich bag instead of a piping bag & it was really making a mess, so I started scooping it with a spoon, this made them very mis shaped but still tasty, I will be using a piping bag next time I make these. I added a little lavender to the almond mixture & blended it after sifting, also put some purple gel food coloring in when I folded it in. These came out so great, I was really expecting worse than just mis shaped cookies, I am so excited they will be perfect next time. Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I tried the recipe and I measured everything with no luck. It may be that I added vanilla extract. I've made soufles with no trouble when I added vanilla though. It may also be that it mixed it too much. Who knows what it is but I'll keep trying until I get it right. Not as easy as it claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this recipe a while back. I was diligent in following the original poster's additional instructions. One mistake I made was I under-mixed the batter. As such, the first half of my cookies looked like bulls-eyes. I found success in used parchment paper sprayed with cooking spray (as one previous commenter suggested). I also used a silicon baking mat, which was fine but not as good. I'm sure an actual brand-name Silpat works better than an ordinary silicon baking mat though. Thank you so much Elle for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The recipe is perfect if you follow the additional instructions the baker submitted below. I gave it four stars only because she also added to use food coloring gel...it is more common practice of French bakeries to use natural foods to color their pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
After trying four other different recipes, these macarons turned out really well for me! Although my piping skills need to be improved. I added gel food coloring before adding the almond & sugar to the egg whites. I baked mine for about 20 minutes (after ten minutes it still stuck to the parchment paper). Also, using butter cream was too sweet for me, so I filled mine with vanilla whipped cream. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe 3x in a day and it worked really well. I made a purple macaron with a purple yam filling. It was soo good...the purple yam has coconut milk, butter and condensed milk..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have tried many versions of macarons, only with this single recipe I found successful and pleasing. Instead of just plain vanilla flavour, I dared to try and substitute 10 grams cocoa powder and 100 grams almond powder instead of 110 grams almond powder which ended with wonderful results. Also baking one tray at a time helped a lot; not a single one cracked in between baking times. I have planned to make this recipe much more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
i followed the directions, but noticed after 10 minutes they were still uncooked in middle, so I baked another 5-8 minutes and they turned out fine ! Thanks. It was easier than I thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States