Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I had some trouble. Maybe my almond meal wasn't ground fine enough? I also made a lot and separated the batter and added food coloring and extract--maybe that's why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Ok...to make the perfect macaron- 1) buy a scale. 2) find confectioners sugar that does not have cornstarch in it (or make your own). 3) find a template to trace circles on parchment paper (I find using the plastic casing from the outside of a tealight to work perfectly), filling in the stencil with the pastry bag straight up and pull away as soon as batter reaches the edge of the circle, and 4) do let them rest before baking! (Otherwise you might get a cracked top.) oh yeah- the cookies are done when they don't stick to the parchment paper, but peel right off. These tips always help them work out! I fill mine with an Italian buttercream flavored with a vanilla bean. I also scrape the seeds from part of a vanilla bean into the batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Following the directions makes perfect Macaron! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The directions were great for such a difficult recipe. I do think that 35 to 40g of sugar would be plenty. It is too sweet with 50g. I wish there was better instruction on when to add food coloring. I did weigh out all of my ingredients and the texture was okay but I am certain if I made them smaller they would cook in the time suggested. I think they need to be piped about the size of a 50 cent piece. You cannot find the footnotes in the mobile version of the site so it did take a while to find the measurements. Patience is definitely key in making this recipe. Someone asked me to make these for a birthday party for kids and I decided no after the ultimate failure on my first try. I am sure with practice it would get easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
They barely blended together. Then when I tried to pipe them onto the baking sheet they seemed all right and then clumped together to make these massive pools of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by afrozeb
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
After reading so many recipes and watching so many tutorials on how to make french macarons I finally decided to give this recipe a try but with notes from other recipes and tips from reviewers. This recipe and directions don't go into depth, which can lead someone who has not done some background homework to mess up. For instance you Must bring your eggs to room temp. When adding food coloring if you choose, it's best to add it towards the end after you've almost folded in the mixture. Gel colors are better than liquid. You must also throw out any coarse pieces of almonds and although I bought almond meal I put it through the blender along with the sugar another time before sifting. After piping the cookies you must tap the bottom of the cookie sheet onto the counter about 6 times for the air bubbles to come up and pop. This way they also flatten out into a more circular shape. Other sites have mentioned to put in one cookie sheet at a time. I did just that. Don't know how it would work otherwise. I didn't have a weighing scale but my cookies still turned out amazing, with feet and all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by stacey8
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Recipe was great! My oven need 14mins for mine to be cooked. But other then that it was fantastic :) thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I've used this recipe for shells many times with great success...now I've come back to it again to make another batch and cannot find the weights!! The website has been re-formated and I can't find the footnotes. Can anyone help and post the ingredient weights for me? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I have tried soooo oh soo many recipes for macaroons, for literary years on end now. There is a French restaurant close by that have them but they are quite expensive and the way I go through them adds up ($1ea). I tried and did my best to make these for my wedding last year,?? I dream of delicate rose petal and chocolate and mocha macaroons to blend in with my romantic candlelit reception, but obviously it didn't happened.I spent time after time doing recipe after recipe and I always ended crying on my kitchen floor. I wish I had this recipe by then its so easy and detailed!THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was a solid recipe. I was happy with the result, but happier with a few adjustments I made to account for my oven, and my taste preferences. I found 30 grams of fine sugar was sufficient to mix with the egg whites. I used 210 grams of the icing sugar and 125 grams of the ground almonds. I add a thin dab of colour to the egg whites to give the little roonies a bit of colour. I also add a tiny amount of very intensive almond extract. I found I had to add more after sifting the almonds because there were so many little pieces left in the sieve. I also sift the icing sugar and almonds separately and weight them after sifting, then sifting again all together.... I know its pain, but so are these tasty cookies! I let them rest on the pan for 35-40 minutes and this worked for me (my house is warm though). I needed to bake at a higher temp for longer- 315 F for 12-13 minutes. I was successful with quality parchment paper. Fantastic little bite of delicious delicacy! Thanks for posting it Elle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States