Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Dina
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used by weight and real egg whites and it came out fantastic . I was wondering if it would be as good using the egg whites in cartons , it is written pasterized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
just a suggestion based on my experience with a mortar and pestle at work but if you cannot find ground almonds or if they are expensive you might try using one of these to ground them - it is what phamacists use to ground tablets for compounding and it grinds them very fine - it is relatively inexpensive too - just FYI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mara
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made them and they came out great! The sad thing is I can't repeat it!!!! They are not coming out as the first time I did them. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
overall this recipe was perfect! this was my first time baking macarons. The only thing is that the baking is much longer than 10 minutes. my first batch was pretty much a loss. second time around i put the over at 325 instead of 285 and baked them for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taco
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a fairly good recipe but I had trouble taking them off the silicone mat without ruining them, (they're now cracked and not as pretty) and they turned out to be flat as pancakes. They didn't cook with the time. I put the oven temperature a bit higher and watched them cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Followed the directions weighing all ingredients, and it worked the first time! I did have to bake for about double the time listed here, as half of the macarons were still underbaked when I tried to remove them from the oven (that's the only time they stuck - when they weren't cooked all the way through). I simply removed those that were done, and put the rest back into the oven. Next time, I'll either reverse their position in the oven after about 8 minutes, or I might try the convection oven. I used a silicone mat that is marked on one side with circles for macarons purchased from Amazon.com, and it made creating perfect macarons of equal size and shape easy, and the cookies came off without any effort. As another reviewer suggested, I will reduce the 50 grams of baker's sugar to 35 grams the next time around, as this was a little too sweet for us. I used a salted caramel and a strawberry buttercream filling. Both were yummy, but next time, I think I'll pipe the icing onto the cookie to keep from sometimes shattering the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Just followed this recipe to the T and worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Don't use the measurements from the video! They are wrong. It says 50g egg white, 50g sugar, 100g almonds, 200g powered sugar. I couldn't see the footnotes on my phone and didn't know they were wrong until I started mixing it and it was way way too thick. Trying it again with the correct measurements from the footnotes! Edited, made using the measurements from the footnote and they were great! Had to make 3 batches because we couldn't wait long enough to eat them with filling. The first tray my kids were eating straight off the pan as they cooled. We are waiting on the filled one to eat tomorrow as I have read they are better if they refrigerate 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by namugee
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made them over the weekend. Well, the taste and texture was great but I had one problem. My Macarons didn't have feet, those coin looking flat bottoms, instead mine turned out to be concave mushroom caps. But, the taste was just like store bought. For cream I made orange flavored cream cheese filling and every one in my family pitched in some money (to buy more ingredients) to make more. Thank you for the recipe. It was wonderful.... Oh, next time, I think I will lessen the amount of sugar. It was really sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Weighed all the ingredients, sifted the drys together, used a COOKIE SCOOP instead of piping (sorry to the purists!), used parchment paper, let rest 20 minutes before baking at 350F (oops)and they still turned out amazing. I will reduce sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States