Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Thank you for this recipe! Have never tried a macaron but have recently been obsessed with trying them. Of course, there's nowhere to buy them within a hundred miles and I hate risking buying food online. So I tried this out. For my first try, I think I did really good, considering how hard people always say it is to get them right. Tasted good, had little feet, just didn't puff up all the way (too much liquid in mine, I think-- because i never fully follow directions). The only problem was a technical one. I didn't have a non-stick base (had JUST run out of parchment paper) so 90% of them stuck and lost their bottoms too much to ignore. It wasn't a bad thing though, because my spouse ate them all anyway. He actually didn't like the ones I filled, just the plain ones. ^-^' Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I am the original submitter of this recipe, so here are some tips to follow, since All Recipes changes the recipe a bit when they approve it. 1.) You have to measure the ingredients by weight. They've put the weights in the footnotes. If you measure out, say, three egg whites instead of 50g of egg whites, you might be off enough to mess up the cookie, and it won't puff up correctly (or at all). 2.) YES YOU DO HAVE TO SIFT THE INGREDIENTS! I'm so lazy. I've tried to do it without sifting. It never works out, trust me. Sift that powdered sugar and almond powder together. You won't regret it. 2.) The "silicone baking mat" in step one was originally a Silpat. I have tried making these on every surface known to man, including my cookie favorite, parchment paper. You need the Silpat or you won't be able to get the cookies off the sheet. 3.) People debate on whether it's necessary to let them set for an hour before baking. We tried setting them from 1 to 240 minutes. One hour is perfect. 4.) It is possible to mix it too much, and the cookie won't puff up when baked. Use as few strokes as possible when folding the almond into the egg whites. 5.) I highly recommend finding already-ground almonds, rather than grinding them yourself. It was our experience that grinding our own almonds resulted in an inferior cookie. They have to be ground to a very fine powder, and it's nearly impossible to do with regular kitchen equipment. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
873 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I used gel food coloring to color the macarons and only needed a little bit. I added that at the very end of the folding (macaronage) process. I wanted two different colors, so I separated some of the batter in another bowl and carefully stirred in the colors. I do not own a scale so I had to follow the volume measurements rather than the weight measurements. It is not advisable to do so with macarons but I didn't have a choice. I made this recipe twice and the first time my macarons were lumpy/grainy. The second time I grounded up my almond meal (Bob's Mill) some more in my food processor to get a finer texture and that helped a lot. I also made sure that I folded in the almond flour and powdered sugar mixture very well into the whites mixture but was careful not to overmix. I made a strawberry buttercream to fill the pink ones and a lemon/lime buttercream for the green ones. I also used apricot preserves the first time I made them to fill the yellow ones but we didn't care for that. My next ones will have chocolate ganache and hopefully I will have my kitchen scale to ensure better measurements. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is my third macaron recipe, and FINALLY, I got lift and feet and no cracks, but ONLY after I bought a scale and weighed everything. Volume measurements didn't work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I have not yet tried this recipe, but intend to do so within the next week. I would like to know how the vibrant colors are achieved in the pictured macarons. What type of food coloring was used and at what point in the mixing process was it added? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Perfect I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I've tried a couple of macaron recipes and this has been the only one that has worked! They turned out looking great. Biting into the shells, they seem a bit soft though, not sure if anyone else has experienced this. But otherwise a great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I'm sure this is completely my fault which is why I am not giving it a low rating. Anyhow, The macarons crack within 4 - 5 minutes of baking! I've tried many many variations of 'resting.' I achieve pretty dry - hard shells, but they crack in the oven anyway. The feets are all perfect though... Did I just simply over mix? How can you tell you've overmixed *before* baking? For the 'skin', I've done the 30 mins, the hour, the hour 1/2... I even tried popping them right into the oven after piping at 200F for 15 minutes, achieving a really nice hard shell (Advice taken from "Les Petits. Macarons"). I've tried leaving it in the oven on "warm" for 10 minutes and also got a nice shell (advice taken from a blogger I found on google. But every time I start to actually bake it, every thing goes wrong. Please help...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleBruce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I've made this twice and both times the macarons haven't baked. they come out of the oven soft and with an air pocket inside the shell. likely I've somehow over-mixed them but a the same time I'm not sure how to mix them any less without ending up with chunks of almond flour. Also, they don't seem to puff like other macarons- these ones are flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarc00kie
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! These are my FAVORITE cookies and although I bake (all. the. time.) I have never attempted a macaron until tonight. These were better than the $2 per cookie ones I last had in NYC! I am so, so , SO thrilled to have tried this! I let them rest for one hour as suggested. I baked one sheet on silpat and one on parchment which I also sprayed with bakers joy (to be on the safe side, lol) and the silpat actually took significantly longer - baked more like 15 minutes. The parchment batch came out just fine, no sticking for me! Rose perfectly, perfect texture, delicious! I filled some with an almond buttercream and some with raspberry preserves and some with a layer of both - YUM! Oh, I also added about a half teaspoon of almond bakery emulsion (not sure how extract would impact the meringue) after the whites were whipped, but before adding the almond/sugar mixture. I also ground my own almonds - I keep a separate coffee grinder for nuts, does a great job. Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States