Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I tried the recipe and I measured everything with no luck. It may be that I added vanilla extract. I've made soufles with no trouble when I added vanilla though. It may also be that it mixed it too much. Who knows what it is but I'll keep trying until I get it right. Not as easy as it claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this recipe a while back. I was diligent in following the original poster's additional instructions. One mistake I made was I under-mixed the batter. As such, the first half of my cookies looked like bulls-eyes. I found success in used parchment paper sprayed with cooking spray (as one previous commenter suggested). I also used a silicon baking mat, which was fine but not as good. I'm sure an actual brand-name Silpat works better than an ordinary silicon baking mat though. Thank you so much Elle for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The recipe is perfect if you follow the additional instructions the baker submitted below. I gave it four stars only because she also added to use food coloring gel...it is more common practice of French bakeries to use natural foods to color their pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
After trying four other different recipes, these macarons turned out really well for me! Although my piping skills need to be improved. I added gel food coloring before adding the almond & sugar to the egg whites. I baked mine for about 20 minutes (after ten minutes it still stuck to the parchment paper). Also, using butter cream was too sweet for me, so I filled mine with vanilla whipped cream. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe 3x in a day and it worked really well. I made a purple macaron with a purple yam filling. It was soo good...the purple yam has coconut milk, butter and condensed milk..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I have tried many versions of macarons, only with this single recipe I found successful and pleasing. Instead of just plain vanilla flavour, I dared to try and substitute 10 grams cocoa powder and 100 grams almond powder instead of 110 grams almond powder which ended with wonderful results. Also baking one tray at a time helped a lot; not a single one cracked in between baking times. I have planned to make this recipe much more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
i followed the directions, but noticed after 10 minutes they were still uncooked in middle, so I baked another 5-8 minutes and they turned out fine ! Thanks. It was easier than I thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
It turned pretty well and pretty. My daughter and I had fun making this. I would like to play with this recipe such as flavoring it and pairing it with different fillings. Make sure your sieve your powdered sugar and almond flour really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and followed it with minor changes. I used a cookie sheet with parchment paper instead of the silicone pan (When I compared this recipe with others, they all used the cookie sheet with parchment so I went ahead and used that.) Also, I made sure to bang the cookie sheets hard on the counter-top several times to make sure all of the air bubbles came to the surface. This prevents the cracks that some of the reviewers talked about. When the air bubbles come to the top, I took a tooth pin and pierced the air bubble. I used the gram measurements instead of the ones allrecipes printed. The first batch I made were overcooked. 10 minutes didn't work for my oven but 7.5 was perfect. Note, buy a oven thermometer to make sure your oven is the exact temperature. My second batch was perfection! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have made these now about half a dozen times and they come out a little better each time I try it. I have a few suggestions to make them fool proof. Start with room temperature eggs, add 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar when whipping the eggs, (it stabilizes the mixture). I used superfine sugar or Castor sugar to make the meringue smooth, and sifted the almond meal and powdered sugar through a sieve to get out the pieces of almond that were larger. (A hand sifter cannot sift the meal properly.) When making slightly larger Macarons, add extra minutes to the time. I have even turned off the oven and cracked the door and left the cookies in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes to assure they come off the pan easily. I used a Silpat for some and parchment for others. Both are good! Once you see the results? you'll be hooked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States