Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have baked macarons from a macaron cookbook, as well as Joy of Cooking, and an online site. I did not care for this version at all. I did sift! but I didn't weigh because I cook in a home kitchen, not a professional bakery. The other recipes turned out pretty well with simple measuring, so this simple recipe looked like it would as well. They were tasteless, and while I got feet on a quarter of the batch, the rest had every other problem covered in the macaron cookbook -- all on one sheet :) They also came out raw in the middle, even with an extra minute of baking; my other recipes used a similar temp but longer baking time, so something isn't quite right here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I went to french pastry school and have a recipe we used in school for macarons all the time but when I started trying to make them at home it was a total disaster so I've been looking for a good recipe for quite some time that works for home baking. I just made these and after trying sooo many different recipes and methods, finally I found one that worked! Some notes that helped me: I found that to get a really good foot but still have them not crack, to leave them out for 20 minutes on my pan after piping with my fan on them. Tried leaving them out for an hour with no fan before and I had a smaller foot and they cracked. Hit your pan hard on the counter after piping them so any bubbles get out, they're smooth on top and they don't crack. I did medium peaks (not soft and not stiff) which seemed to work better because too soft of peaks makes it really hard not to overmix your batter when combining. Too stiff makes it really hard to not look chunky. In school we were taught to age our egg whites and almond flour. I didn't and it worked fine. I would say that it is really important that the almond flour is dried out though. Humidity will effect the texture. You absolutely have to sift the almond flour and confectionary sugar. I hate doing this, but it's necessary. Trust me I've tried to skip this step so many times and it never works. Also, be careful that your almond flour is very finely ground. Sometimes even the stuff you buy can get crumbly. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love4EJ
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was my first attempt at macarons and it was much easier than I thought it would be. I used a scale as suggested by the submitter and followed the recipe to a T. The macarons did not crack or stick. I was very pleased. To make all the macarons the same size I make a template out of a big sheet of paper and placed it under the parchment paper. The only problem I have with this recipe was the bake time was not long enough. The centers were still a bit moist. I used an oven thermometer so I know the temp was at 285. Will bake for maybe 15 min next time. Used chocolate ganache for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Miraculously, they worked! This was my first attempt so I made sure to read the other reader's advice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 9 year old daughter REALLY wanted to try to make macarons and I was super hesitant despite the fact that I have always wanted to figure it out. I have read and heard they were very difficult to make and didn't want her to be disappointed. The fact that macarons are delicious combined with being gluten free (which is necessity for me) makes this an ideal treat so I tasked her with finding an EASY recipe that didn't require a food scale. We followed the recipe to the tee (grinding our own almonds in the coffee grinder) and to my surprise they came out perfect! I did have to bake them for an additional 8 minutes or so (easy enough) so they wouldn't stick to the parchment paper. I am excited to try this again and again and experiment with different food colorings as well as flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
the prep and waiting for the skin to harden is the most irritating thing about this recipe, hence the 4 stars. they didn't taste all that great, but came out beautiful and baked perfectly. i think it all really depends on what filling you use. they are just so sugary and sticky. when they are filled and packaged, they are they gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These came out great! I followed the recipe exactly (just added some green gel coloring). I also used the weight measurements in order to be more exact. I think next time though I will either increase the oven temp or the bake time. They came out a bit soft. I'd like to get them a little more crisp on the outside. But other than that, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vedika_luthra
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made macarons dozens and dozens of times- this one had the best results. They dried within 20 minutes, and I baked them for 20 minutes. I absolutely loved them- made chocolate macarons using 4.5 tbsp of dark cocoa, and filled them with a dark chocolate raspberry ganache. EXCELLENT! go to http://hotchocolatehits.blogspot.com/ to see my adjustments and photos. I may even make a video soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
tasted like macroons, but were flat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I made this recipe and it turned out perfect. I made it twice and there were never any cracks. I've tried other recipes and they never turned out well. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. As far as the fillings, I used Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States