Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and once out the oven they stuck to the silicon baking mat and were very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The recipe turned out great!! It was my first time making this and it worked :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe for a very finicky cookie. If you use the weight measurements you'll have much more success. Also, you must sift- otherwise your cookies will come out a bit lumpy. The finer your almond meal the better, the store bought stuff I got wasn't fine enough, had to blitz it in a food processor to help it a bit. The cooking time listed is too short, at 285 F it's more like 20 minutes, otherwise the inside is mush and they'll stick to the sheet. To color them, you want gel colors, you need to use too much liquid to get the color you want- they're relatively inexpensive, I got 8 colors for under $10. The shells are usually not flavored, but you can substitute some of the almonds or powdered sugar for other powdered ingredients, but be sure to keep the weight of the ingredients the same overall. To make chocolate ones I used 40g of cocoa, and subtracted 20g each of the sugar and almonds. You can do similar with powdered fruit ingredients as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My first try turned out great with no cracks and they puffed! I will find a cookie cutter next time so they are all the same size. A couple of notes: I used Almond Meal (Bob's Red Mill) and sifted it with the sugar but still had several tiny bits. Next time will blend it through the food processor first. I weighed all ingredients a folded approx 35 strokes. Added 1 tsp vanilla to egg whites once firm, and dusted macaroons with cinnamon & sugar just before going into the oven. Filled with a cinnamon butter cream. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa77
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved these even though mine didn't look the best. I'm hoping a few more times of making these will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for Macarons; I have made them several times and each time i get perfect round mounds with no cracks and cute little "feet". I have, however, made a slight adjustment on the sugar level and have also been able to add flavorings to make different varieties. Weighing the ingredients is key. Ive found that you MUST weigh the almond flour & powdered sugar. Its not, however, that crucial to weigh the egg whites (i never have. my thought process was, umm if i'm short 3-4 grams am i reaaally gonna try and get 3 grams from another egg? Meh!) 3 egg whites will do the trick :) It is also not crucial to add a total of 50 grams of regular sugar to the eggs while youre beating them. This is where I have tested many different weights, and for me and my friends/family, 35 GRAMS is PLENTY sweet enough. Seriously! it already has 200 g powdered sugar! By decreasing the amount of sugar to 35 g only, the almond flavor shines a LOT brighter. Trust me. To make chocolate macaroons: sift in one tablespoon of cocoa powder into the almond flour & p. sugar. Easy peasy. Stir in a small amount of Brown Gel food coloring into the egg whites. To make coffee macaroons (my fav!): sift one teaspoon of instant espresso powder (you know, the one with the green cap!) into the almond flour & p. sugar. Brown food coloring into the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilyavasweetshop
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This recipe is great! I've always wanted to attempt the famous Macaron but was admittedly terrified! But I am proud of my first attempt, and I know what I did wrong so I can fix it the second time round. What went wrong for me? Piping uniform circles, not letting them set long enough, under baking (10 minutes wasn't long enough for mine) Definitely measure your ingredients on a scale, sift, sift, sift! Let them set, and watch the baking process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilyavasweetshop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I am so happy with this recipe, it was my first time ever making these & I was exstatic to see when I opened the oven they were puffed up the way they should be. I used a kitchen scale. The only thing that went wrong was that I used a sandwich bag instead of a piping bag & it was really making a mess, so I started scooping it with a spoon, this made them very mis shaped but still tasty, I will be using a piping bag next time I make these. I added a little lavender to the almond mixture & blended it after sifting, also put some purple gel food coloring in when I folded it in. These came out so great, I was really expecting worse than just mis shaped cookies, I am so excited they will be perfect next time. Thank you for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I tried the recipe and I measured everything with no luck. It may be that I added vanilla extract. I've made soufles with no trouble when I added vanilla though. It may also be that it mixed it too much. Who knows what it is but I'll keep trying until I get it right. Not as easy as it claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I made this recipe a while back. I was diligent in following the original poster's additional instructions. One mistake I made was I under-mixed the batter. As such, the first half of my cookies looked like bulls-eyes. I found success in used parchment paper sprayed with cooking spray (as one previous commenter suggested). I also used a silicon baking mat, which was fine but not as good. I'm sure an actual brand-name Silpat works better than an ordinary silicon baking mat though. Thank you so much Elle for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesnbubbles

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States