Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by lizzard Cacca
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great recipie. Had to lower the oven temperature slightly as they were starting to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzard Cacca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe didn't work for me. I used already ground almond powder so I couldn't mess that up, I even weighed the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZozosMama
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thank you so much for this recipe! It's awesome! It is a basic recipe that allowed me to try different variations each time I make it. I've made: 1) coconut macarons: vanilla cookies with coconut frosting 2) chocolate orange macarons: chocolate cookies (used 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder in place of the powdered sugar) with orange cream 3) berry cheesecake: vanilla cookies (teaspoon of vanilla extract and 3 drops of red food color) with berry cream cheese frosting. Frosting from my left over Carrot Cake III. I used about equal amount of frozen berries to frosting; (1 cup: 1 cup). Defrosted berries and pressed through a sieve. This was by far the best batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZozosMama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I'm giving this recipe a 5 star for the insight the original poster left in the comments. I was finally able to get PERFECT results after I bought a kitchen scale. I've found that 3 grade A large egg whites weigh closer to 85 grams, which messed this recipe up the first 2 times I made these cookies. They cooked fine with only 20-30 min resting on the tray before baking, good luck. This recipe definitely takes patience!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and once out the oven they stuck to the silicon baking mat and were very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
The recipe turned out great!! It was my first time making this and it worked :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe for a very finicky cookie. If you use the weight measurements you'll have much more success. Also, you must sift- otherwise your cookies will come out a bit lumpy. The finer your almond meal the better, the store bought stuff I got wasn't fine enough, had to blitz it in a food processor to help it a bit. The cooking time listed is too short, at 285 F it's more like 20 minutes, otherwise the inside is mush and they'll stick to the sheet. To color them, you want gel colors, you need to use too much liquid to get the color you want- they're relatively inexpensive, I got 8 colors for under $10. The shells are usually not flavored, but you can substitute some of the almonds or powdered sugar for other powdered ingredients, but be sure to keep the weight of the ingredients the same overall. To make chocolate ones I used 40g of cocoa, and subtracted 20g each of the sugar and almonds. You can do similar with powdered fruit ingredients as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My first try turned out great with no cracks and they puffed! I will find a cookie cutter next time so they are all the same size. A couple of notes: I used Almond Meal (Bob's Red Mill) and sifted it with the sugar but still had several tiny bits. Next time will blend it through the food processor first. I weighed all ingredients a folded approx 35 strokes. Added 1 tsp vanilla to egg whites once firm, and dusted macaroons with cinnamon & sugar just before going into the oven. Filled with a cinnamon butter cream. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa77
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved these even though mine didn't look the best. I'm hoping a few more times of making these will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for Macarons; I have made them several times and each time i get perfect round mounds with no cracks and cute little "feet". I have, however, made a slight adjustment on the sugar level and have also been able to add flavorings to make different varieties. Weighing the ingredients is key. Ive found that you MUST weigh the almond flour & powdered sugar. Its not, however, that crucial to weigh the egg whites (i never have. my thought process was, umm if i'm short 3-4 grams am i reaaally gonna try and get 3 grams from another egg? Meh!) 3 egg whites will do the trick :) It is also not crucial to add a total of 50 grams of regular sugar to the eggs while youre beating them. This is where I have tested many different weights, and for me and my friends/family, 35 GRAMS is PLENTY sweet enough. Seriously! it already has 200 g powdered sugar! By decreasing the amount of sugar to 35 g only, the almond flavor shines a LOT brighter. Trust me. To make chocolate macaroons: sift in one tablespoon of cocoa powder into the almond flour & p. sugar. Easy peasy. Stir in a small amount of Brown Gel food coloring into the egg whites. To make coffee macaroons (my fav!): sift one teaspoon of instant espresso powder (you know, the one with the green cap!) into the almond flour & p. sugar. Brown food coloring into the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States