Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Just followed this recipe to the T and worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Don't use the measurements from the video! They are wrong. It says 50g egg white, 50g sugar, 100g almonds, 200g powered sugar. I couldn't see the footnotes on my phone and didn't know they were wrong until I started mixing it and it was way way too thick. Trying it again with the correct measurements from the footnotes! Edited, made using the measurements from the footnote and they were great! Had to make 3 batches because we couldn't wait long enough to eat them with filling. The first tray my kids were eating straight off the pan as they cooled. We are waiting on the filled one to eat tomorrow as I have read they are better if they refrigerate 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by namugee
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made them over the weekend. Well, the taste and texture was great but I had one problem. My Macarons didn't have feet, those coin looking flat bottoms, instead mine turned out to be concave mushroom caps. But, the taste was just like store bought. For cream I made orange flavored cream cheese filling and every one in my family pitched in some money (to buy more ingredients) to make more. Thank you for the recipe. It was wonderful.... Oh, next time, I think I will lessen the amount of sugar. It was really sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Weighed all the ingredients, sifted the drys together, used a COOKIE SCOOP instead of piping (sorry to the purists!), used parchment paper, let rest 20 minutes before baking at 350F (oops)and they still turned out amazing. I will reduce sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Just a tip: it was very helpful for me to sift the confectioners sugar and ground almonds BEFORE I whipped the egg whites. Thank you for this recipe! Although I haven't been measuring my ingredients, every time I've made it, it comes out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizzard Cacca
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great recipie. Had to lower the oven temperature slightly as they were starting to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzard Cacca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe didn't work for me. I used already ground almond powder so I couldn't mess that up, I even weighed the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZozosMama
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Thank you so much for this recipe! It's awesome! It is a basic recipe that allowed me to try different variations each time I make it. I've made: 1) coconut macarons: vanilla cookies with coconut frosting 2) chocolate orange macarons: chocolate cookies (used 3 tablespoons of cocoa powder in place of the powdered sugar) with orange cream 3) berry cheesecake: vanilla cookies (teaspoon of vanilla extract and 3 drops of red food color) with berry cream cheese frosting. Frosting from my left over Carrot Cake III. I used about equal amount of frozen berries to frosting; (1 cup: 1 cup). Defrosted berries and pressed through a sieve. This was by far the best batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZozosMama

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I'm giving this recipe a 5 star for the insight the original poster left in the comments. I was finally able to get PERFECT results after I bought a kitchen scale. I've found that 3 grade A large egg whites weigh closer to 85 grams, which messed this recipe up the first 2 times I made these cookies. They cooked fine with only 20-30 min resting on the tray before baking, good luck. This recipe definitely takes patience!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and once out the oven they stuck to the silicon baking mat and were very flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States