Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I have given this 5/5 because the instructions and tips were great, the macaroons i made tasted so good...however i rushed making them and that was my first mistake! allow yourself plenty of time and i think next time i would make them smaller as i seemed to make them a bit big so when i tried to assemble them they were much to thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayney Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have never made FM's before. I had time, took my time to read the reviews n tricks. If I'm gonna take the time to make these, that seem really technical, I don't want to screw em up! So, I went and bought my first digital scale. Measure, measure, measure!! I ran the almond flour through the FP and Still had a heck of a time sifting it! I was making these for the family so I just dumped the rest of the flour (2 tbls) that still had tiny pebbles in the bowl. Mey;) Gives texture and didn't seem to make a difference to me. I gave them some color, let them sit by an open window on a hot summer day and popped them in the oven. There is a vast difference of temps, I setitled on 375 then down to 325 once the pan went in, turned after 5 minutes. My cookies didn't rise as much as I thought and the lost a bit of color, the higher temp might be the reason. I will correct this next time. I GOT FEET!! No cracks, I used both silpat & parchment paper with no spray, nothing stuck. I made a mocha filling with Hershey/hazelnut coco spread & 1 tbls. Instant coffee crystals along with a little coffee creamer to thin it out. The family thought they were very good! Well, now I know I Can make them;) Thank you very much Elle. Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by jengakat
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I used the silicon mats on my pan which affected my cooking time, along with my elevation so the first tray was undercooked I went with 320 for the temp and 15 minutes. I made them rootbeer flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Amazing recipe. My first attempt at making macarons using a different recipe was a complete failure, but I tried this one on my second attempt and I was impressed with how easy it was to follow and how beautiful everything came together. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good recipe, but I recommend following the quantities under "Cook's Notes" if you want consistent results every time. Invest in a good electronic scale if you plan to bake a lot. Using "cups" for dry ingredients is generally not a good idea for highly technical recipes such as this. Also it took me 16-18 minutes to properly cook a batch using the recommended temperatures, so it will vary depending on your oven. If this is your first time making it like I did, they're cooked when they peel off the silpat effortlessly. if they crumble, they're nowhere near cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip Wong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I liked this recipe. I saw some other's reviews about there being air pockets. To get rid of them, bang the trays against the counter to release the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dina
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used by weight and real egg whites and it came out fantastic . I was wondering if it would be as good using the egg whites in cartons , it is written pasterized
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
just a suggestion based on my experience with a mortar and pestle at work but if you cannot find ground almonds or if they are expensive you might try using one of these to ground them - it is what phamacists use to ground tablets for compounding and it grinds them very fine - it is relatively inexpensive too - just FYI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mara
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made them and they came out great! The sad thing is I can't repeat it!!!! They are not coming out as the first time I did them. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
overall this recipe was perfect! this was my first time baking macarons. The only thing is that the baking is much longer than 10 minutes. my first batch was pretty much a loss. second time around i put the over at 325 instead of 285 and baked them for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States