Macaron (French Macaroon) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
It turned pretty well and pretty. My daughter and I had fun making this. I would like to play with this recipe such as flavoring it and pairing it with different fillings. Make sure your sieve your powdered sugar and almond flour really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I tried this recipe and followed it with minor changes. I used a cookie sheet with parchment paper instead of the silicone pan (When I compared this recipe with others, they all used the cookie sheet with parchment so I went ahead and used that.) Also, I made sure to bang the cookie sheets hard on the counter-top several times to make sure all of the air bubbles came to the surface. This prevents the cracks that some of the reviewers talked about. When the air bubbles come to the top, I took a tooth pin and pierced the air bubble. I used the gram measurements instead of the ones allrecipes printed. The first batch I made were overcooked. 10 minutes didn't work for my oven but 7.5 was perfect. Note, buy a oven thermometer to make sure your oven is the exact temperature. My second batch was perfection! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have made these now about half a dozen times and they come out a little better each time I try it. I have a few suggestions to make them fool proof. Start with room temperature eggs, add 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar when whipping the eggs, (it stabilizes the mixture). I used superfine sugar or Castor sugar to make the meringue smooth, and sifted the almond meal and powdered sugar through a sieve to get out the pieces of almond that were larger. (A hand sifter cannot sift the meal properly.) When making slightly larger Macarons, add extra minutes to the time. I have even turned off the oven and cracked the door and left the cookies in the oven for 15 to 20 minutes to assure they come off the pan easily. I used a Silpat for some and parchment for others. Both are good! Once you see the results? you'll be hooked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by pearlsandsilverroses
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
First time making macarons and these turned out great! Followed the recipe exactly, only let sit for 45 mins but probably could have put them in at 30. Baked at 285ish for 10 mins exactly. No cracks, did get the feet. :) Used a strawberry buttercream filling. Does anyone know about food coloring? I would have liked to turn them pink but wasn't sure when to add the color and if water based was okay. Ground my own almonds with a food processor and coffee bean grinder, that seemed to work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearlsandsilverroses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
It worked for me!!! I weighed my ingredients,added cream of tartar to my egg whites while betting them and after piping the batter onto the cookie sheets lined with parchment paper I gave the cookie sheet a good hits against the table (this is supposed to get the bubbles out and prevent cracking. I filled mine with Nutella yum yum :) I have never actually tasted a macaron before I took on the challenge of making them. And after creating the perfect macaroon I know what all the fuss is about. THEY ARE AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I have baked macarons from a macaron cookbook, as well as Joy of Cooking, and an online site. I did not care for this version at all. I did sift! but I didn't weigh because I cook in a home kitchen, not a professional bakery. The other recipes turned out pretty well with simple measuring, so this simple recipe looked like it would as well. They were tasteless, and while I got feet on a quarter of the batch, the rest had every other problem covered in the macaron cookbook -- all on one sheet :) They also came out raw in the middle, even with an extra minute of baking; my other recipes used a similar temp but longer baking time, so something isn't quite right here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I went to french pastry school and have a recipe we used in school for macarons all the time but when I started trying to make them at home it was a total disaster so I've been looking for a good recipe for quite some time that works for home baking. I just made these and after trying sooo many different recipes and methods, finally I found one that worked! Some notes that helped me: I found that to get a really good foot but still have them not crack, to leave them out for 20 minutes on my pan after piping with my fan on them. Tried leaving them out for an hour with no fan before and I had a smaller foot and they cracked. Hit your pan hard on the counter after piping them so any bubbles get out, they're smooth on top and they don't crack. I did medium peaks (not soft and not stiff) which seemed to work better because too soft of peaks makes it really hard not to overmix your batter when combining. Too stiff makes it really hard to not look chunky. In school we were taught to age our egg whites and almond flour. I didn't and it worked fine. I would say that it is really important that the almond flour is dried out though. Humidity will effect the texture. You absolutely have to sift the almond flour and confectionary sugar. I hate doing this, but it's necessary. Trust me I've tried to skip this step so many times and it never works. Also, be careful that your almond flour is very finely ground. Sometimes even the stuff you buy can get crumbly. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love4EJ
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was my first attempt at macarons and it was much easier than I thought it would be. I used a scale as suggested by the submitter and followed the recipe to a T. The macarons did not crack or stick. I was very pleased. To make all the macarons the same size I make a template out of a big sheet of paper and placed it under the parchment paper. The only problem I have with this recipe was the bake time was not long enough. The centers were still a bit moist. I used an oven thermometer so I know the temp was at 285. Will bake for maybe 15 min next time. Used chocolate ganache for filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Miraculously, they worked! This was my first attempt so I made sure to read the other reader's advice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My 9 year old daughter REALLY wanted to try to make macarons and I was super hesitant despite the fact that I have always wanted to figure it out. I have read and heard they were very difficult to make and didn't want her to be disappointed. The fact that macarons are delicious combined with being gluten free (which is necessity for me) makes this an ideal treat so I tasked her with finding an EASY recipe that didn't require a food scale. We followed the recipe to the tee (grinding our own almonds in the coffee grinder) and to my surprise they came out perfect! I did have to bake them for an additional 8 minutes or so (easy enough) so they wouldn't stick to the parchment paper. I am excited to try this again and again and experiment with different food colorings as well as flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States