Macadamia Nut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
It tastes fine, but then again, this is simply a pecan pie made with macadamia nuts, so if you like traditional pecan pies made with corn syrup (I prefer pecan pies with caramel filling rather than corn syrup, but that's just me), you like macadamia nuts and you like eating pies, then you'll definitely be happy with this recipe. The reason I'm giving it only 3 stars is primarily because of its appearance. It's, unquestionably the ugliest looking pie I've ever made. The flotilla of whole, beige macadamias suspended in a crisp filling of dark corn syrup is visually unappealing. The macadamias really stand out with their light color and make the pie look unfinished or undercooked, even though it's not. The dark skin of pecans lends a great deal more appeal than light-colored nuts, at least with this recipe. There's a reason I was only able to find 2 or 3 recipes for macadamia pies and like 200-300 recipes for pecan pies. It's because macadamias don't look good and don't really taste all that great in pies. They're meant to be covered in chocolate or eaten plain right out of the jar. They're not the type of nut you put in a pie because of the aesthetic reasons I mentioned and because the sweet filling just doesn't compliment the subtle, understated taste of the macadamia nut, it overwhelms it. Don't take my word for it, though. If you are set on baking a macadamia pie for whatever reason, try it! It's a very easy recipe with a short prep time, so you've got nothing to lose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Awesome. My mom, a southerner, used to make this when I was a kid growing up in Hawai'i. Macadamia nuts, particularly broken ones, were cheaper than pecans. We all liked this better. Good for you, STORMY, and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Whoops. I'll try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very good and easy to make. Rich like pecan pie. I actually liked it better than pecan pie because I love macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marqueta Martinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
The (syrup? custard?) filling is very similar to the one of a pecan pie. Yet, I omitted chopping macadamia, and munching on a whole round nut was a nice contrast with the sweet corn syrup filling. May try it with hazelnut to make this pie cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This pie was SOOOO good. I like pecan pie but LOVE this. I doubled the recipe and we still fought over the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Recipe very quick and simple to make, perfect when pressed for time!! When served warm, this pie didn't do too much for me--just didn't "grab" my tastebuds. When served cold, it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Our guests enjoyed this pie so much that they didn't touch the Pecan Pie I normally make. This recipe will be a new Thanksgiving tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States