Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
excellent i pretty much followed the recipe-i'm not much for measuring-i also used cashews,jarred tropical fruit, and not as much chicken broth so it was super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
A very rich and satisfying dish with a tropical flair. Only thing I changed was I subbed Panko breadcrumbs for regular b.c. and added a few dashes of red pepper to spice it up. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This recipe is outstanding!! I served it for a small dinner party (4 people) and I received glowing compliments (this using previously frozen mahi). Changes I made: I used a whole can of macadamia nuts (6 ounces) and a smaller amount of bread crumbs (maybe 2-3 ounces?). I found that I wanted more coating than the recipe calls for. I also dipped each fillet in an egg mixture (1 whole egg + 1 egg white) before coating. For the sauce I didn’t use the pepper as mentioned in other reviews, and instead just added a few shakes of crushed red pepper. I also only used 3 cups of chicken broth instead of 4 and found that I still needed to add a little cornstarch to thicken up the sauce appropriately. Instead of fresh fruit, I used canned mixed tropical fruit cups. And instead of sugar, I sweetened the sauce with the juice from the cans (I left the fruit in the sauce when I stirred in the cornstarch instead of straining out the fruit and it was fine this way). Finally I served the sauce and fruit over the fish like chutney. I received RAVES from everyone…I had reserved sauce so I served that on the table as well, and everyone was scraping the bowl. This was definitely a winner and I will certainly be making it again! My boyfriend LOVED it. Oh, and another reviewer mentioned that it is a lot of prep work…I didn’t find that to be the case if you used the canned fruits and crushed red pepper…the only chopping I had to do was the onion. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
This was delicious! Although it took closer to 20 minutes in the oven for our fillets to cook (perhaps they were thicker?). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I had hubby to this process outside on the grill (with a cast iron pan) and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This dish was amazing. I made a few changes for vegetarian reasons. such as veggetable stock instead of the chicken. I also dipped the fish in an egg batter before the bread crumb mixture which gave it a crisper crust. Overall this dish was amazing. My husband loved it, and he hates fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
this was amazing! i made it for my boyfriend and he is still raving about it. The sauce wasn't as thick as I expected and I worried about it but it still was so good it didn't even matter. Just be careful with the habeneros, my fingers burned all night because I didn't wear gloves whenever I handled them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I too "joined" this site just to rate this. Wow...This was an amazing recipe. I've been cooking for my boyfried for the last year, only repeating the same meal twice, and though he is very appreciative, he is very hard to impress. He loved it! He recently said he couldn't wait until I made it again and requested it for our anniversary. I made it with red and gold papaya, pineapple, and mango. I didn't have a habanero so I used a serrano. Great! We thought we'd like it a bit spicier so next time I will use the habanero. I served it with both the fruit chunks and sauce, over coconut rice. Great combo of tropical flavors. Couldn't ask for a better recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
mmmmmmmmmmm, this was wonderful. I changed a few minor things. I only used 1 can of chicken broth and it still was not thick enough. I think that 4 cups was a mistake unless I read something wrong. Also I substituted extra virgin coconut oil instead of coconut. It has to be unprocessed to get the flavor. I purrayed the fruit, sauteed shallots, and pepper. I did not strain it. I thought this would keep the sauce a bit thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States