Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
If you want to treat her like a lady, then make this for you wife for a candle light dinner. Nice and flaky with sweet heat she loved it. The only real change I made was to go with a 15 oz can of Dole Tropical fruit instead of fresh pineapple, papaya and mango. I served it with love and sweet patotoe brownies for desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was excellent! I did not add the papaya (after reading some of the prior reviews) but I might give it a try next time. I also had to cook the Mahi in the oven for approximately 20 - 25 min (as the fillets were fairly thick). I am going to make this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The sauce was was too "chickeny" with all the stock. Would try coconut milk or some cream next time. Pureed in blender to thicken but left some fruit chunks still. Recipe also out of order- the sauce should be started before everything else. Did add unsweetened coconut coating and it was excellent. Cooked with opah instead of mahi and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was by far, the best fish i've ever eaten, prepared by me or at a restaurant. The only variation i did was instead of making a sauce from the fruit, i blended the whole thing after it was reduced and made a sort of jam/chutney out of it, and spread it over the fish when done. Served with coconut rice and some grilled red peppers/pineapple/purple onion skewers. Wow! thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was sooo delicious! My husband and I just got back from Hawaii and wanted to try cooking as if we were still there. And not to be bragging but this was better than anything we had there! I made it easy by buying the can of tropical fruit and using the food processor for the bread crumbs and nuts. Also, did not skip out on the Habanero but used the food processor instead of having to chop the pepper by hand- the flavor from the pepper was delicious (used 1 pepper to 2 steaks). I didn't need to bake it, that would have dried it out too much. Just browned in skillet and then topped off with the sauce, fruit chunks and all. I also more than doubled the coconut. So good, thank you for the recipe! One last thing, I only used 2 pieces of fish instead of 6 and used the full amount of breading and found it to be just enough, you may want to make more if you are making the full amount of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Good recipe. I used less bread crumbs and vegetable broth instead of chicken. Very tender sauce, not hot to my taste. I liked papaya in this sauce, it gave an extra flavor. I thickened the sauce with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Tried this exactly according to the original recipe, and thought it was just alright. I like food very spicy, and the amount of habanero was just right for a good level of heat. But for the time and number of "not on hand" ingredients required, it just didn't do a lot for me. And the consistency of the coating after drizzling it with the sauce was unfortunately gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
great dish. had to adapt for what i had on hand - crushed pineapple worked for fruit, used a little of the juice for sweetness; coconut milk (lite) as i didn't have coconut flakes; cayenne pepper for the habanero and then added some chipolte chili powder which gave it a nice smokey flavor. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was pretty good but honestly not fantastic. The breadcrumbs/macadamia topping wouldn't crust right, so it was sort of mushy. The topping was fantastic, though! I did add a pinch of corn starch to thicken it up, and I also added some hot pepper flakes. Next time I make this - and I will make it again - I think I'll use a different type of fish. I think it would be better with halibut or even salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wow! This recipe was phenomenal. My boyfriend and his roommate both went back for seconds. I added a bit more coconut than the recipe called for and left the fruit in the sauce to act as a sort of chutney. I served it with tropical jasmine rice cooked in chicken broth and coconur milk and topped with crushed pineapple and green onions and a side green salad. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States