Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
we followed the recipe step by step EXACTLY and we were really disappointed. It was way too hot and we LOVE spricy food. We couldn't even eat it and I ended up throwing all of the sauce out. I recommend that you use one habanero pepper or do as others have suggested and don't use any and substitute red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Good and easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was really fantastic! I couldn't get enough of that sauce and so kept pouring it on my brown basmati rice and just ate it like that!!! I do have to say though, I don't know if it was just he habaneros from my garden that were too hot, but my husband and I LOVE spicy food, we eat sriracha on everything and this dish was okay for us but I would never serve something this spicy to guests(unless I know for a fact they love really hot food) I would say to cut it back to one habanero and if not spicy enough add some chili flakes...The crust was fantastic but I did more like 3/4 of a cup of macadamian nuts and one cup of bread crumbs seasoned with salt and pepper. I also fork whipped 2 egg whites to dredge the fish in first. I also used about half a can of coconut milk and reduced the chicken stock to 3 1/2 cups(make sure to use stock and not broth for the best flavor) and 1 tblsp of sucranat sugar (from Hawaii) For those of you who found your sauce didn't thicken, then you did not simmer it long enough, Simmering doesn't necessarily mean a slow simmer....I kept it at a good med/ high heat for the liquid to evaporate and the sauce then reduces nicely. I used an emergen blender to semi break up the chunks(still leaving alot of texture) you could do this in a processor with just two or three pulses. This also helps to thicken without the use of cornstarch. Great recipe and will be using often as a go to meal especially for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Getting a quality visually-appealing crust was a challenge. For presentation, I wound up sprinkling toasted macadamia and coconut over the finished filets. Used the freshest fish and the freshest fruit. OMG. I cook all the time. I think this was the best thing that I ever tasted from my own kitchen. The sauce is DEEEEEVINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
excellent idea to dust in bread crumb+micro chopped nuts. did not make the sauce (took shortcut and used already made pineapple-mango sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
We were in Maui and my brother-in-law caught some Mahi Mahi on a fishing trip. I found this recipe and decided that this one sounded especially good with all the fruit so easily found on Maui. I did like a lot of other reviewers and did not strain the fruit after simmering. It was very tasty with the chutney style. I did not thicken with corn starch like other reviewers did, and I think if I would have strained the fruit out, the sauce would have been too thin. We also added 3 Tbsp of coconut to the sauce instead of just one, and I think if I make it again, I will add even more for a more coconutty taste. This recipe was outstanding! It got rave reviews from my family. Hope to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was excellent and I think the reason I liked it so much is because how easy it was after I cheated. I have had this dish in many many restaurants and I think mine was just as good... Do you have a trader joe's by you? Well then great, get a jar of their pineapple salsa put it in a small sauce pan and let it simmer on med heat for about 10 minutes... and your sauce is done. Super easy super tasty! I also put a bit of milk on the fish so the coating would attach easier but it wouldn't be as thick as egg and the rest I followed. I served this over brown rice and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I'm pretty new to cooking and this was one of the first recipes I've tried. My Hubs and I loved it! It was fairly easy to make. Love the sweet but spicy bite the sauce provides!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
The taste was really good, but for all of the expensive ingredients and time, I was hoping for something amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Ginger-Glazed Mahi Mahi

This easy glaze is rich-tasting yet light and healthy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States