Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
My DH and I liked the fish alot more than the sauce. I used fat free half & half. When I tried making the sauce the first time, it curdled. I then rinsed the mango off, and boiled in a little bit of water with lemon juice and rum. I then pureed in food processor. I put it back in the pot with 1/2 tbp of butter and added the FF H/H and warmed. I must have bought the driest mango on the planet, because this one was not what I was used to. That being said, we both did not like the sauce nearly as much as we liked the fish. I served with fresh sauteed asparagus, salad, and an excellent white bourdeaux. I used haddock, because sea bass in so expensive here, although we do love it. I save that for the restaurant scene. Thanks for the post. I'll use the bread crumb mixture again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
i used a catfish (cheaper and available) and it worked very well, though i thought the sauce was a bit odd looking it tasted amazing! family ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Killer!! I used wild salmon filets, brushed them with garlic infused olive oil, sprinkled with red Hawaiian sea salt and black pepper, then applied the nut mixture directly to the fish and baked at 450 for 15 minutes. Turned out spectacular; fish was moist and crust was toasted and slightly crunchy. Omitted red pepper flakes from nut mixture, added freshly grated nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. of brown sugar. Do not process nut mixture until smooth; that would make a paste, which would be bad. Pulse the mixture until it is light and crumbly, with plenty of nut chunks left, then apply lightly to fish without packing. I used fat free half and half for the sauce, and added freshly grated nutmeg, 1/4 cup of mango nectar, and a splash of vanilla (the good stuff, please) to the mango sauce. With fat free dairy and lemon juice your sauce will often separate or curdle; I pureed it at the end of cooking to smooth this out. Served with saffron rice and steamed broccoli. Next time I will use lime juice instead of lemon, and add a splash of coconut rum to the sauce. This recipe is just too good to miss- Thank you Deanna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This receipe was awesome. Very easy to prepare with very little time. Followed the recipe as is and it was better than any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe is both yummy and pretty! I followed the advice of a member and pureed the mango sauce. However, I left it just slightly chunky which added nice bursts of sweetness. I also added about a Tablespoon of dark rum into the sauce. Finally, instead of sea bass I used Mahi-Mahi and served it with a side of black beans and basmati rice. I got much praise from this recipe. I will defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
For all the work involoved, I expected the crust around the sea bass to be better. However, the MANGO cream sauce is to die for and will be used as future toppings for desserts! (Even vanilla ice-cream!) Just incredible, if that's all you take from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I have to say that this is the best recipe I have ever had for Sea Bass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Sea Bass is my favorite fish, and this is a perfect recipe that I will make again and again. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Go easy on the nut topping and the sauce. I thought more would be better, but not with this flavorful fish, and rich topping and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Neither DH or I were very impressed with this recipe. I followed it more or less to the T. The only changes I made were to use cashews instead of macadamias and lime juice instead of lemon in the sauce. The dish is quite sweet. I served it with Asian Avocado as an appetizer, then the Curried cashews, pear and grape salad. It could have been that the former two dishes over-powered the fish entirely but overall, I wasn't impressed and probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was wonderful...I wouldn't change a thing. My husband loves fish and would like it more often. This recipe will make me a fish fan also!! Next time I might try half and half to cut down on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States