Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
The mango sause was YUMMY. I used mahi mahi because sea bass was out of season and mahi was on sale. My friends really enjoyed this rich combo. It's like making a $40 meal for less then half but all of the favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Delicious recipe! I didn't change anything except the type of fish I used. I used mahi mahi because certain kinds of sea bass have been terribly overfished due to irresponsible fishing methods. There are many excellent alternatives to sea bass (Chilean sea bass has been particularly overfished) that are more known for sustainable fishing practices. Mahi mahi and pacific halibut both have wonderful textures to complement this dish. Thanks for the recipe, I'll be making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Great Recipe!!! i grilled the sea bass with the olive oil and garlic drizzled on top, instead of pan searing. will certinly make this again, maybe with another white fish, since sea bass is so darn expensive. my future mother-in-law said it was the best fish she has ever tasted.. a success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This recipe was delicious, and the combination of flavors and textures really makes for a wonderful meal. I have been raving about this to all of my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe was awesome! An easy $30+ entree at any elegant restaurant. Hubby, who is slowly starting to like more fish, loved this! I love all kinds of fish so I knew it would be a keeper. Some substitutions I made: I used Del Monte jarred mango in extra light syrup because the store didnt have fresh. Also, I was told at the fish market that sea bass is not in season right now, so I used a nice fresh halibut fillet instead. I also used fresh garlic, which makes a world of difference in any recipe. As I was making this, hubby kept hanging around the kitchen - just smelled too good to keep him away! After pan searing it per the directions, I baked it at 400 degrees for 15 min. (I had a pretty thick halibut fillet so 350 would have taken forever) and that was perfect. After adding the macadamia crust, I broiled it for about a minute. Any longer and it would have burned, but it came out perfect!! The fish, the crust, and the mango sauce all work so well together. I sauteed up some zuchinni and made mushroom risotto as my sides. I can't wait to try the recipe again with sea bass. I'm going to make this for my parents for their anniversary, its that good. FYI - Definitely use macadamias - even though they can be expensive, the flavor is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
My boyfriend and I made this and we thought it was great. We couldn't find seabass or macadamias, so we used snapper and cashews, and it was excellent. The mango sauce is awesome. The only thing I might do differently next time is use only 1 clove of garlic, so it doesn't overpower the flavor of the sauce. We served it with mushroom risotto and sauteed red and orange peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I went a little overboard when I bought mangos the other day, and have since been trying to find recipes to use them. This one has been in my recipe box for ages so I stopped at the fish market and picked up the sea bass - OH MY! I can't believe it took me so long to make this! It was hands down delicious! I did substitute the seasoned bread crumbs (didn't have any)with the panko that I had on hand. A recipe has to be pretty special for me to make it again - this definitely is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This was an unbelievable hit!! I cook quite often, and my boyfriend went crazy for this-- his new favorite dish. Said it was as good as something you'd find in a top restaurant. Was a little time consuming to make, but certainly worth it. I used pacific sea bass and it came out perfect. Next time I'll invite people over to share this dish. Perfect for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
great recipe! we were in the boonies so we couldn't find half the ingredients....used pecans instead of macadamia nuts, mango chutney instead of real mango, and frozen haddock instead of sea-bass. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I had hesitations making this as I am not a great cook when it comes to fish - but this tasted surprisingly delicious - my mouth was watering!! I marinated the sea bass in rice wine for a good 10 minutes to get the 'fishy' taste out, then I followed the instructions. I didn't have nuts so I just doubled up on bread crumbs, and when baked, the bread crumbs taste really crunchy and SOO yummy. I used HALF AND HALF instead of heavy cream (its less fat), and it still turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States