Macadamia-Crusted Sea Bass with Mango Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was the first time I've had chilean sea bass and I was excited to try this recipe, but was left completely disappointed (and broke)! I followed the recipe almost exactly, however it came out flavorless and greasy (possibly due to the oils in the crust) I certainly loved the texture of the fish itself, but the crust and creamy sauce overwhelmed the dish and made it shockingly unhealthy. For those of you who will insist on trying this recipe, please due so first with a much less expensive cut of fish to see if you like it. And do not put vanilla extract in the mango sauce as others have suggested. The extract made it taste like a dessert sauce (although it tasted delicious on the scoop of vanilla ice cream I had afterward.) For a fish like this less is definately more. Do yourself a favor and save the time and money for something else. Prepare with a bit of olive oil, white wine, salt, pepper, lemon juice and parsley. It will cost less and taste much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I cooked this for my Husband's birthday and he loved it. The mango sauce was amazing and it went perfectly with the Sea Bass. If you're looking for a dish that is relatively easy to make and impressive....this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarkingFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Loved the sauce. I also ran the sauce through my food processor to make it smooth. The mistake I made was leaving everything in the skillet when I put it in the oven. Should have changed pans. Was to greasy and Sea Bass is a very expensive fish so I will change pans the next time as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
As good as similar restaurant dishes, if not better. I did run my Mango Sauce through the processor to smothe the texture, and MMMM was it good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made this for my husband and he absolutely loved it! Just the two of us so we had enough mango suace to freeze and eat it for another day. Second time around I heated it back up in a sauce pan- Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
You get gourmet flavor with a reasonable amount of effort with this recipe. Mine was delicious, and I think it would work well with many different varieties of fish. I might puree the mango cream sauce next time, as I found it difficult to dice the mango into anything that looked attractive - but the flavor was fabulous. Picky younger daughter liked the fish without the sauce. An impressive dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made the Mango sauce first (made it creamy), when I tasted it... I didnt like the taste... I almost wanted to doctor it up, but I resisted and I am VERY glad I did. I pulsed the nut mixture as per the suggestions so it was crumbly. Everything went together so well, next time I will add a pinch more red pepper flakes. This was a surperb dish, I was very impressed, and it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cos Cob, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was excellent! I followed the advice of a few others. For the sauce I skipped the lemon altogether. I pureed Dole mango (no ripe ones in the store), heated it up, added a splash of coconut rum and about a tablespoon of brown sugar, then the heavy cream and cooked until thick. The macadamia crust was awesome. I spiced it up a little more with the red pepper but the sweetness of the mango sauce was a perfect contrast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Excellent, I follwed recipe to the "T" and was amazed. Seabass is very expensive but worth it. I will try the macadamia crust on other fish. My husband and 9yr old loved it. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Used Halibut steaks instead, very tasty, and a wonderful mixture of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Sea Bass with Chili-Lime Dressing

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-inspired grilled sea bass.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States