Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
no major cheesy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Delicious! I used a 4 cheese Italian blend in place of the cheddar, tiny shell macaroni and topped it w/ seasoned panko crumbs before baking. This came out perfectly creamy and yummy! I will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been looking for a while for a good mac n' cheese recipe and I think this is the base for it. I changed it by adding a few extra ingredients, but this recipe gives the perfect combination of base ingredients for a not-too-dry mac n' cheese. I added finely diced jalapeno peppers, finely chopped dried tomatoes (in oil), substituted goat cheese for the processed cheese, and substituted some of the milk with heavy cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 tsp. of dry mustard. Oh, I almost forgot--I combined 1/2 cup fine bread crumbs with 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan for the topping. It was the best mac n' cheese I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a fairly easy recipe to make. I like that there are few ingredients and adds ins are endless. But you really have to like the taste of American cheese to enjoy this recipe, and I'm not that big a fan. Also, it does not reheat well for leftovers. Good for when you're in a pinch. Just make enough for what you need, and throw in some add ins. I don't plan on making this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
A definite keeper for comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Love it. It's my new go-to mac and cheese. 4 stars are given for the recipe as is. If you change nothing, it's a great basic mac and cheese. 5 star version changes the cheddar for something else (monterrey jack) and a dash of dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I doubled the recipe and used 4 cups cheese and no processed products and it turned out perfect I won't look for anyother recipe for mac and cheese recipe EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloomofSparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
As mentioned before, this recipe is a great base! I added about a teaspoon of both garlic powder and onion powder and some Worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce. I baked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and it came out bubbly and delicious! My picky 5 year old loved this! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Really tasty! I think next time I'll use less cheese and add a little more milk because the texture ended up really thick and alomst sticky. But I gave it 4 stars based on the flavors. I did add some seasonings, red pepper flakes and garlic salt, and also some Italian breadcrumbs to the top. Besides that I followed it exactly. Really good, but next time I know I can make it better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
The overall flavor of the mac and cheese was good, however I found it to be quite dry upon baking. I would have enjoyed it better prior to baking. I added some extra seasonings such as onion powder, black pepper, and salt. I also used Mexican cheese and Kraft and velveeta singles to make the sauce since I did not have the velveeta block.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States