Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was my first attempt at homemade mac-n-cheese. Given that,it turned out really really good! Seemed a bit thick and gooy, so I may increase the milk next time, how ever with just myself and my wife there is enough left for 2 or 3 more meals. As others suggested I may try a bit of dry mustard to ad a little zing. I served this with extra large boiled shrimp and fresh lima beans, made a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Oh my goodness, sometimes the simplest is the best! I rated this as is before I added anything to it. It's a really good basic mac and cheese recipe, but the flavors were a little weak and sort of nondescript for my taste, so I added to it some Dijon mustard (for an entire package of macaroni I made this sauce and added about a tablespoon, maybe 1 1/2 tablespoons) and some kosher salt to make the flavors "pop". I loved the additions and thought they added so much to an already great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was a simple and delicious way to make Mac & Cheese, without just opening a box from the supermarket! A few easy steps and you've got a great dinner for the kids. I actually created my own version of a Buffalo Chicken Mac & Cheese, starting with this recipe. I then layered 1/2 the Mac & cheese in a 2 quart casserole dish, then added buffalo chicken (In skillet, melt 1 1/2 Tbl butter, and 1/4 Cup Frank's Hot Sauce. Mix in 1 1/2 Cups cooked, cubed chicken breast). Then top layer is the remainder of the Mac & Cheese. Cover & Bake as directed in this above recipe. ~ This received rave reviews by all at the dinner table. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
So yummy for the tummy...but not for the waistline. Made this for a family b-que and it was gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
no major cheesy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Delicious! I used a 4 cheese Italian blend in place of the cheddar, tiny shell macaroni and topped it w/ seasoned panko crumbs before baking. This came out perfectly creamy and yummy! I will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I've been looking for a while for a good mac n' cheese recipe and I think this is the base for it. I changed it by adding a few extra ingredients, but this recipe gives the perfect combination of base ingredients for a not-too-dry mac n' cheese. I added finely diced jalapeno peppers, finely chopped dried tomatoes (in oil), substituted goat cheese for the processed cheese, and substituted some of the milk with heavy cream. Finally, I added about 1/4 tsp. of dry mustard. Oh, I almost forgot--I combined 1/2 cup fine bread crumbs with 1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan for the topping. It was the best mac n' cheese I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a fairly easy recipe to make. I like that there are few ingredients and adds ins are endless. But you really have to like the taste of American cheese to enjoy this recipe, and I'm not that big a fan. Also, it does not reheat well for leftovers. Good for when you're in a pinch. Just make enough for what you need, and throw in some add ins. I don't plan on making this again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
A definite keeper for comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Love it. It's my new go-to mac and cheese. 4 stars are given for the recipe as is. If you change nothing, it's a great basic mac and cheese. 5 star version changes the cheddar for something else (monterrey jack) and a dash of dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States