Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
It was ok. I normally don't make a cheese sauce so my mac and cheese turns out thick and I was trying to make a creamier dish. This wasn't any creamier and the cheese flavor was weaker. I don't usually bake it, either, and still don't see any reason to. Not inedible but not worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Excellent!! This has become a family favorite. I make it exactly as written and we can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This stuff was great. I made 100 servings for a wedding and everyone raved. Sooo creamy. I added crushed club crackers and extra cheddar to the top before baking and I put some pepper and powdered mustard in the roux, just because I always have before but those aren't the key because this is the best recipe I have ever used. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe step-by-step for a family gathering. It was a big hit! It is thick and creamy. The second time I did it I added toasted breadcrumbs (I am new to cooking) and that was even better. By the third time I made it, I got adventurous. I'm from the South and my grandma sometimes used heavy whipping cream as a substitute for milk. I made 16 servings (32 oz. elbows) with 6 cups of whole milk and 2 cups of heavy whipping cream. The consistency was much thicker, almost like a casserole, but it was even more popular with my family. We had plenty of leftovers.......which were excellent battered up and FRIED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent! Very yummy. Unfortunately, it did not keep very well for us past the one day mark - but we feel that this may be the nature of the pasta, so my only suggestion would be to just make what you're going to eat that night. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was a huge hit! The only thing I added was a tsp of onion powder, worcestershire sauce, and 1/4 tsp of black pepper. If you did not add these spices, it would still turn out great the way it's stated...I just wanted a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnrandles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a really good recipe. I use half and half instead of milk, and shredded mild cheddar and white sharp cheddar for the "cups" portion of the recipe. For the processed cheese, I use 1lb 1/2 American cheese and 1/2 lb muenster cheese sliced from the deli. I add a pinch of mustard powder, and season to taste with garlic powder, onion powder, fresh ground pepper a little Kosher salt and a little of Lowry's Seasoning ( don't use a lot of salt because cheese is a bit salty anyway). The key is to taste the cheese mixture to make sure it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great basic recipe! If you are a blander eater it is fine as is. If you want to kick it up...go for it. We like it kicked up....I seldom make mac n cheese due to mac n cheese not being a healthy meal no matter the recipe. When I do make it I do it the same as this recipe however add things I have on hand. Tonight I did a mirepoix of celery, red pepper, jalapeno pepper and the white parts (base) of a few green onions. Then did the roux. I added garlic powder, dry mustard, pepper (no added salt), and a splash of Worcestershire....plus a little Parmesan. I topped with the only thing I had on hand...which was Cheese-its. Enjoy, it is a comfy food recipe that you can eat as is...or build it to you desire...don't be afraid. BTW, served with leftover smoked root beer can chicken and peas YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and actually added bacon and spinach just to spice it up a tad. oh was it yummy. Thanks for the basic idea on a old fashion favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Love it! I make this recipe all of the time now. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States