Mac and Cheese II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was just ok. I've had better. The cheese was a thick consistency after baked. I think this could've used maybe a little salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Not many recipes go into my recipe book unchanged, but this one does. It's your basic creamy mac & cheese recipe, but the way I see it, why mess with perfection? I'm not a huge fan of adding crackers or breadcrumbs, so if you're the same way you'll love this. I prepared the noodles and cheese sauce ahead of time so that it was only 30 minutes until it was on the table. I served it with brown sugar ham and broccoli - delicious, and definitely a hit with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is a winner everytime my husband makes it! We just had company over and they couldnt stop talking about how wonderful it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petitefleur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My first attempt at mac 'n' cheese & success! No more Kraft! I had a lot of cheese in the fridge but it was a random mixture; I used White American cheese slices, 1 garlic/herb cheese wedge & 1 c mixed shredded sharp cheddar & mozzarella. Per review suggestions, I added chopped onions, a splash of worcestershire, Frank's Red Hot sauce, garlic powder & black pepper. Fiance adored it - I liked it well enough but definitely will try it with *good* cheese next time. Oh, and I baked it for almost 20 minutes which dried it out too much for my liking. Pre-oven, it was super creamy but I guess it depends on how you like your mac 'n' cheese. Thanks! Now I know I can! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love macaroni and cheese but I am very particular. I made this dish without varying from the recipe. This mac and cheese tasted like what you would get served to you in a family restaurant/diner. Very good, but not great. I think it would be a good mac and cheese to give neighbors, bring for a picnic or serve as a side dish for a family dinner. I believe it would yield consistent results. The processed cheese made it somewhat creamy and the cheddar did give some depth to the taste. However, I am searching for the ultimate recipe and I don't think this is it, for me. Also, it does look very "soupy" before you bake it, but don't be concerned, it becomes more solid in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was really really good. Made this for a Cancer Patient,who was on a food rotation by many other people in the community. The family asked for the recipe, and could they keep the dish too. With the many prepared meals brought to them, they said this was only the second or third time they asked for a recipe. Add additional items to this recipe that your family likes. I added crushed potato chips as a topping to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MROZINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this for a Christmas dinner. Everyone raved about it and I will make it again for my family. It was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I have used this white sauce recipe for years and years, but with a full pound of pre-cooked pasta. When the white sauce is hot and bubbly I add a large block of cheddar cheese (grated or cut up into chunks), 16 oz block of Velvetta (cut into chunks), 2 lbs of cooked, drained and cut-up bacon, then pour over the pre-cooked pasta when cheeses are melted, topping with Italian bread crumbs before popping into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Turin, New York, USA
Living In: Casselberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is really good! I added a dash of onion powder to the flour, and I think it added a little depth to the flavor. Also, I wanted a really creamy macaroni, so I didn't bake it at all! After mixing the cheeses with the pasta, I just let it rest for about 10 minutes, and it was the perfect, ultra-creamy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was really easy and good. I may reduce the flour as the cheese sauce was a little too thick for me. Otherwise, really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States