Mable's Potato Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
If you are just starting out for the first time on making there cookies(potato candy). Use a small potato, size of golf ball. You will use a little over half a bag of powdered sugar. More if mixture is still to wet when you try and remove it from the bowl. You will need to use powdered sugar to kneed the mixture like bread dough. When no longer tackey, put powdered sugar on rolling pin and roll out. Follow recipe. Place wax paper between each layer of cookies(candy)to keep from sticking together in air tight containe. Hope this advice helps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I haven't tried this particular recipe, but potatoe candies are a classic at home and we do it without fiexed quantities, because it all depends on the size of the potatoe. Therefore, one should try to get the smallest potatoe possible and add sugar until it forms a dough. You can always cook another potatoe if you find you don't have enough candies in the end (there are never enough...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
i don't know if i did something wrong or what but this recipe did not work at all for me. the mixture was runny. is there a missing ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Share
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I used to know these as "pinwheels" and had no clue they were made with potatoes until last year. They are great if you use enough sugar, but VERY hard to roll (at least for me). My husband ended up re-rolling them after sticking them in the freezer for 30 minutes... that's why mine don't look like pinwheels (see photos)- but at least they ended up semi-round and edible and not in the trashcan, which was where I was ready to throw them. I remember my dad's friend's wife making these when I was little and they were *perfect* pinwheels... if you do it correctly. So GOOD LUCK! :) My best recommendation is be patient, and when in doubt stick it in the freezer for a little while to stiffen it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Share

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have been trying to find this recipe since the 90`s,I first had it in Va.. this recipe worked out really good. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I loved this cookie. I do wish however that the size of the potatoe was stated. I used a really large one and had to use more sugar... then I ended up with to much sugar I think. But it came out ok, and everyone ate it up. I think a medium sized potato would have worked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My mother made these cookies when I was small and I have been looking for this recipe for over 25 years. Thank you for posting it. it means a lot to me. I am going to make them for Christmas and share the memory with my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I tried this and it turned out kind of runny. My mom says its because the warm potato melted the sugar... I probably won't try it again because it didn't taste very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I guess I am not the only person that has searched for this recipe for many years! I grew up in Ohio, my mother made this cookie for my brother and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
If you have a craving for this candy but, don't have a potato in the house I just pour some powdered sugar (about a box) in a bowl and gradually add milk to it (dosn't take much) tell dough ball forms and roll out just like recipe suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States