Mable's Potato Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
If you are just starting out for the first time on making there cookies(potato candy). Use a small potato, size of golf ball. You will use a little over half a bag of powdered sugar. More if mixture is still to wet when you try and remove it from the bowl. You will need to use powdered sugar to kneed the mixture like bread dough. When no longer tackey, put powdered sugar on rolling pin and roll out. Follow recipe. Place wax paper between each layer of cookies(candy)to keep from sticking together in air tight containe. Hope this advice helps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
i don't know if i did something wrong or what but this recipe did not work at all for me. the mixture was runny. is there a missing ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
I'm sorry to say that this recipe did not work at all. The ingredient amounts are way off. If you want to make the "potato candy" your Grandma used to make, go to Rhonda's recipe for "potato candy", read the reviews and add extra confections sugar. It's a lot of work, so make sure you have enough time and enough sugar on hand...enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My mother made these cookies when I was small and I have been looking for this recipe for over 25 years. Thank you for posting it. it means a lot to me. I am going to make them for Christmas and share the memory with my grandkids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I haven't tried this particular recipe, but potatoe candies are a classic at home and we do it without fiexed quantities, because it all depends on the size of the potatoe. Therefore, one should try to get the smallest potatoe possible and add sugar until it forms a dough. You can always cook another potatoe if you find you don't have enough candies in the end (there are never enough...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I loved this cookie. I do wish however that the size of the potatoe was stated. I used a really large one and had to use more sugar... then I ended up with to much sugar I think. But it came out ok, and everyone ate it up. I think a medium sized potato would have worked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have been trying to find this recipe since the 90`s,I first had it in Va.. this recipe worked out really good. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I guess I am not the only person that has searched for this recipe for many years! I grew up in Ohio, my mother made this cookie for my brother and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thank you Mable! This brought back memories of my childhood. The recipe is so simple, but oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I really wanted to like these cookies but they excite me or my husband. The sugar potato dough was so sugary, not even the peanut butter could bring it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States