Mable's Potato Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Recipe is great. Nice gluten free way to make a quick snack for a toddler. I have also used regular brown sugar instead of the powdered sugar and since it liquidifies first, I assumed that the sugar melted. The end result was not marbled but just as yummy. The last time I made the regular one and set the "cookies" on crushed corn flakes and finally sprinkled and pressed down flakes on top. The crunchy addition was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
From what I remember of my mother making this candy, is that it is best to do it in nice hot dry weather. Something to do with the way it sets up. Hope this is helpful to others. I tried it once and it was a mess for me, but then again that was before I learned how to really cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Share
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I used to know these as "pinwheels" and had no clue they were made with potatoes until last year. They are great if you use enough sugar, but VERY hard to roll (at least for me). My husband ended up re-rolling them after sticking them in the freezer for 30 minutes... that's why mine don't look like pinwheels (see photos)- but at least they ended up semi-round and edible and not in the trashcan, which was where I was ready to throw them. I remember my dad's friend's wife making these when I was little and they were *perfect* pinwheels... if you do it correctly. So GOOD LUCK! :) My best recommendation is be patient, and when in doubt stick it in the freezer for a little while to stiffen it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Share

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I tried this and it turned out kind of runny. My mom says its because the warm potato melted the sugar... I probably won't try it again because it didn't taste very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
If you have a craving for this candy but, don't have a potato in the house I just pour some powdered sugar (about a box) in a bowl and gradually add milk to it (dosn't take much) tell dough ball forms and roll out just like recipe suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I really wanted to like these cookies but they excite me or my husband. The sugar potato dough was so sugary, not even the peanut butter could bring it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Thank you Mable! This brought back memories of my childhood. The recipe is so simple, but oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I guess I am not the only person that has searched for this recipe for many years! I grew up in Ohio, my mother made this cookie for my brother and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have been trying to find this recipe since the 90`s,I first had it in Va.. this recipe worked out really good. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I loved this cookie. I do wish however that the size of the potatoe was stated. I used a really large one and had to use more sugar... then I ended up with to much sugar I think. But it came out ok, and everyone ate it up. I think a medium sized potato would have worked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States