Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This was very tasty. My husband and I both loved it. The only thing I felt like it was missing was the straw mushrooms. Also we didn't add any peas. I love peas, just not in my tufo. I'm so glad to have the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
I was looking for this receipe "FOR TOFU" that my husband could cook without gagging!!! & I find that this receipe is the one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
My husband and I have traveled throughout Asia, and Ma Po Tofu is one of our favorites - we have ordered it wherever available. THIS recipe is by far the best Ma Po Tofu we have ever eaten! I am amazed and absolutely thrilled to have found it. Thank you Linda! I have used a couple of tiny variations due to supplies on hand: added two thinly sliced green onions, used "hot" chili garlic sauce and 1/2 tsp pepper while leaving out the cayenne, used black bean garlic sauce without rinsing (because it is a sauce), and substituted extra-lean ground turkey for the pork. My husband said it tasted exactly like pork, which he loves. Oh, and I added a little more chicken broth as it cooked down a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This dish is simple to make and is full of flavor. Almost no fat and very little meat are what authentic, everyday Chinese cooking is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! If you think you don't like tofu, you should try this recipe. It will quickly change your mind. I know this will be one of our family favorites! I too added a bit more broth and used ground sirloin instead of pork. The sauce is so delicious! Thanks for sharing a tasty, healthy, low-fat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I like tofu and it was good to find a tasty and relatively easy dish to make. I took the suggestion of one reviewer to use the black bean sauce w/garlic instead of the fermented black beans. That worked well. I also used ground beef instead of ground pork. The first try, I put the chili sauce and no cayenne pepper. The second try, I didn't put any chili sauce nor cayenne pepper because I wanted the kids to give it a try. It is better with the chili sauce but it was still tasty without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great, spicy flavor! I made this with a lot more ground pork than required, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This recipe is awesome!! My husband and I go to this little restaurant that serves Ma Po Bean Curd and this recipe is the closest match I could find. Really good, even for non tofu eaters...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I really love this dish and so do my children and very picky husband. It is not a dish that we would typically like but it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Made once with tofu and once with chicken thighs (cut in pieces). Very good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States