Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This recipe is awesome!! My husband and I go to this little restaurant that serves Ma Po Bean Curd and this recipe is the closest match I could find. Really good, even for non tofu eaters...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great, spicy flavor! I made this with a lot more ground pork than required, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Good flavour but way too salty for me. Would definitely cut down on the soy sauce and/or chicken stock next time but I will definitely make it again. I substituted long beans for the peas and used more pork and increased the sauce quantity. It really is worth trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This recipe was delicious! I normally don't like green peas, but it worked really well in this recipe. Yumm!! Definitely make it! I didn't have to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is such an authentic yet easy recipe. It is great for tofu-starters and tofu-lovers. Delicious! Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was delicious! I also used black bean chili paste and garlic chili sauce and left out the cayenne - it was wonderful! I served it with brown rice, as opposed to the white rice recommended, for more nutritional value. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This is a great dish for those just coming into the tofu world! Thank you for sharing it! It's a super hit and often cooked! I too add 1 tsp of sesame oil to the pork/meat section and to sauce mixture. We like things really spicy so I've increased the chili sauce and the cayenne pepper by 50% and used Chili Bean Sauce instead of the fermented black beans. I've served it with nasi goreng (Indonesian fried rice) and with yellow rice and both were a hit. Many thanks again for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Most excellent, however watch out for the cayenne. I used 1/2 of what is called for and it was plenty! We are spicy-food eaters, too, and half the recommended cayenne made our heads sweat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I used braised tofu, soy beans instead of peas, & ground turkey instead of pork. It was very yummy! Next time I will cook the meat first, then add the sherry because I would have liked to drain out the grease from the turkey. Not quite like the dish a Chinese relative made for me, but a very close second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
this was good. taste was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States