Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Ma Po Tofu is my favorite asian dish - this recipe is a great homemade version! I've tried many recipes before this, and this one is the best. I don't eat meat, so instead of pork I use mushrooms, I also add a lot of chopped green onions at the end. I also sometimes add diced carrots to give it a little more substance since I don't use the pork! Love this recipe! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suezie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I was a little skeptical about it tasting like ma po tofu from a restaurant since it had so few ingredients, but the flavor was right on! Also, not nearly as oily as from some restaurants but still has all taste :) Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a great recipe that I've made a few times now. My only complaint about the recipe is that 1 tsp of cayenne makes the dish way too spicy. I love spicy but I find using 1/2 tsp works much better. Also, I used ground turkey instead of pork (BF won't eat pork), used fresh pea pods instead of frozen peas, and added mushrooms and water chestnuts. I then topped with green onion (per another reviewer's suggestion). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Fast & easy dish that's easy to make vegetarian. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was good, but I found I really needed to dump in the hot chili's to bring it up to any kind of flavor as I thought it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
very very good and easy to make. restaurant- quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Delicious. I've made this dish many times and the BF (who is not normally a tofu fan) and I always gobble it up. For those of you have trouble finding fermented black beans - the black bean paste/sauce that comes in a jar works great (you should be able to find it at the Ethinc Food isle at your grocery store). I serve this plain white rice, and I like to double the sauce b/c love having it over my rice. I also use sliced waterchestnuts instead of peas for some extra crunch (and b/c the BF doesn't like peas but loves waterchestnuts). Another tip - I once subbed beef broth for the chicken broth b/c I'd ran out of the latter, and it tasted great as well - richer, in fact. So, when you feel like having a richer tofu dish, use beef broth. Otherwise, chicken broth is just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I've made this dish twice and it turned out great both times! I left out the peas, made a little extra sauce, & dried the tofu out a bit in the oven (as one of the previous reviewers recommended). My husband loved this dish and said it was as good as what we've had in local restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Excellent Chinese comfort food! I only used half a teaspoon of chili paste and omitted the cayenne pepper entirely. This gave it a hint of spiciness that I enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Made once with tofu and once with chicken thighs (cut in pieces). Very good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States