Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I love everything about this recipe. I make it all the time and everyone loves it... even if they are typically weary of tofu since it picks up the flavors of the dish nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe! I used sake instead of sherry and added sliced green onions. This was deliciously spicy. It was a little too spicy for my SO, but perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Pretty easy and tasty. I doubled the meat in this recipe and had baked asparagus as a side. Not too shabby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This recipe reminds me of some of the best ma po tofu dishes served in restaurants in Singapore. It's quite spicy though,so better to go with less cayenne pepper, and add more to your taste as it's simmering. We loved it, kids thought it a bit too spicey. Served over rice, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is some good Ma Po Tofu!!! It is one of my favorite dishes...YUMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLENYR
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
So delicious! I used ground ginger instead of fresh ginger and bean sauce instead of the fermented black beans. Tasted wonderful with these substitutions! I love this recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I will definitely make this again. I added a few drops of sesame oil and 2 green onions as well, and used black bean sauce instead of the beans. Served over rice, it made a very good hearty meal. I dare you not to like tofu after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Yummy comfort food and great for packed lunches. I use a bean sauce/paste from the store instead of fermented black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Hi, I live in China and Love Sichuan food "Ma Po Tofu" and "Shui Jiu Niu Rou" are two of my favorites. Sichuan food is known for not just the "la" what we call "spicy hot" but also "ma la" which is the no-so-hot but mouth numbing tingling feeling you can only get from Sichuan peppercorns. They have an amazing flavor- I am Addicted. If you go to a Chinese grocery store ask for "hua jiao" "flower pepper." It is little and round black/brown, sometimes green or other colors. Both syllables are pronounced in the first tone, high, and flat. good luck- it is worth it.... just watch out! try grinding it a little or just fry them in oil and throw them in- THE AROMA...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Ma Po Tofu is my favorite asian dish - this recipe is a great homemade version! I've tried many recipes before this, and this one is the best. I don't eat meat, so instead of pork I use mushrooms, I also add a lot of chopped green onions at the end. I also sometimes add diced carrots to give it a little more substance since I don't use the pork! Love this recipe! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suezie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States