Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Boyfriend loves it! However, it needs more meat! I highly recommend 93/7 ground beef, the little extra bit of fat helps the cornstarch thicken. Again, great boyfriend food if you need to teach him about tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I liked it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Yummy and easy! We doubled the amount of ground pork, sherry and cornstarch mixture, doubled the amount of chicken broth and minced fresh ginger, used Black Bean Sauce with Garlic since we couldn't find fermented black beans, Linghams's Hot Sauce since we didn't have chili paste, and like others, added some green onions and a few drops of sesame oil at the end. Hint: Take the tofu out of the water in package and press it down with weighted plate or bowl for 10-20 minutes to get some of the excess water out. Thanks. We'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
My husband really liked this. We will use this base recipe again but likely add in more traditional Chinese vegetables and possibly reduce the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I've always seen Ma Po Tofu on Chinese restaurant menus, but had never tried it. We all really enjoyed it. I used prepared black bean paste and I cut way back on the soy sauce because prepared paste is pretty salty, but next time I won't use soy sauce at all as the finished dish was still a little salty for me. The recipe doesn't specify what firmness tofu should be used; I used extra-firm and was glad I did - I can see a softer tofu falling apart in this. I followed everything else as written and served it with sesame rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is the most "restaurant-like" version I have tried. I didn't have the correct beans -- I used fermented soy bean paste instead --but I figure the fermented part was more important than the kind of bean. I also subsititued szechuan pepper for the cayenne, as I knw that is what most restaiurants use. Next time I will double the sauce ingredients, as I like my ma po tofu on the saucy side, and I found this a bit too dry for me. But, it was super quick - definitely faster than getting takeout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I thought this recipe was good, not great. I liked the addition of the fermented black beans, but otherwise I thought there was not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now...we love it!! My husband has asked me to make it multiple times... I made it exactly as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Very good. I added some extra veggies and left out the pork. Very spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I love everything about this recipe. I make it all the time and everyone loves it... even if they are typically weary of tofu since it picks up the flavors of the dish nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystallynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States