Ma Po Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyful Justice

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
my bf LOVED this dish! he's not a tofu fan aside from this one dish. he has been after me to find a good recipe and this is definitely a keeper! followed the recipe exactly. next time may increase the sauce a bit but really it is fabulous just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
There is nothing wrong with this recipe, but be forewarned: It is NOT a recipe for Ma Po Tofu. First of all, Ma Po Tofu's main flavor is the Sichuan peppercorn. Seriously, this is the main flavor of the dish... yet it doesn't appear in the list of ingredients. It's like someone who doesn't know how to cook chinese food ordered it once, and tried to copy it without having any knowledge of Sichuan cuisine. Many of the other ingredients do correspond to the ingredients of the original dish, but dry sherry, green peas and cayenne pepper would never appear in the restaurant version. Thus, I have provided a 3* review not because the dish is particularly bad, but because it might mislead someone into thinking that the dish they were making would turn out to taste like Ma Po Tofu -- it will not, and you will be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was my first time buying/trying tofu and I went into not expecting to like it but was desperately wanting to try it. Turns out, I don't like tofu but I refuse to give this a low rating just because I didn't end up liking the main ingredient. IF you like tofu and spicy, I think you will love this dish. I agree with other reviewers in the fact that you need to use extra firm. I used fresh snap peas instead of frozen regular peas and they were excellent in this. Even though tofu ended up not being our thing (taste like what band-aids smell like to me) this was an excellent recipe and one I highly recommend if you like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Ya gotta love "spicy" but DH absolutely enjoyed this dish. Made it just as stated. Thanks for sharing. Wasn't as "soupy" as I thought it was going to be. Warms up good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is fantastic! Very delicious. Used recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good and easy! I doubled it with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent flavor and very easy. A perfect weeknight dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe. Its very easy to prepare and tastes great, and reheats well if you don't finish it all. I don't have sherry and I usually add sriracha (rooster brand) on it to make it spicy. Depending on what tofu you use, you may need add a bit more cornstarch to thicken the sauce up. If the sauce is too light in color, use a bit of dark soy sauce to darken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This dish was awesome! I baked my tofu to keep the pieces from falling apart too much, and I think I could have used less cayenne. Still it was a lot easier and more authentic than I expected. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States