Ma Ma's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and needed about a cup more flour. Easy for the cut-out cookies, but the taste is just ok. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
very easy to make, didn't have to buy any extra ingredients, tastes like a sugar cookie, satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
First, the dough is way too soft to cut into shapes. I tried pressing them with a glass like a previous commenter and the dough was too sticky. I ended up flattening with the palm of my hand to the thickness suggested in the directions. The cookies spread A LOT and were gooey when I took them out. Yuck. I had some batter left over so for the next batch I rolled them into balls and let them bake for 12 minutes. They looked better but the flavor wasn't that great. Not using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
When we are craving something sweet, I pull this recipe out. Each time my family says "but we don't want plain old sugar cookies" and each time they end with "I can't believe they are gone already, they were so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Eh, just ok. I found it pretty much impossible to roll this dough out. I tried adding more flour, I tried chilling it in the fridge first... nothing worked. Just sticky and unforgiving. The cookies were a little bland. I liked the texture, but they were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Very easy and yummy. Like others I used butter rather than shortening but I thought it was great. I also used whole wheat pastry flour and added 1 tbsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt (actually sea salt) as recommended. Didn't roll out the dough (lazy) but rolled into balls and pressed with bottom of sugared cup as recommended. Rock n roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very delicious. I iced these with butter cream, and sprinkled them with colored sugar. My husband loved these even more than our daughter...who has an insatiable sweet tooth. I didn't have butter flavored crisco, but added some butter flavoring, and they were great. *just a side note...If you don't want to buy self rising flour just for this recipe, you can substitute regular flour. For every cup of regular flour just add 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder. It is the same as self rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
AWESOME very easy sugar cookies! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this great recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I am not much of a baker but these were very simple and very good. I usually mess baking up but not these. My husband loved them and for him to like my cookies yepee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States