Ma Ma's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Made this for me and husband and we both loved it my husband devoured the cookies lol thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
The cookies came out wonderful for my first time baking from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn Fields

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Cook1112
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
As a pregnant lady, I get those crazy random sweet cravings. I sat here fighting with it for a good hour before I decided I WAS GOING TO FIX THIS! I searched and searched for a recipe then FINALLY came across this one. Super easy, had everything I needed, and didn't seem too messy. I mixed everything up according to the directions except I had to add an extra half a cup of flour to get it to a dough like consistency. Also instead of vanilla extract, I tried a tsp of Jack Daniels Tennessee Honey Whisky and made them. I let my dough set in the freezer for 5 minutes then balled them into tablespoon size balls. I also kinda made them into a snickerdoodle type cookie! Low-and-behold they came out amazing! Definitely one I'll make again. Husband loved them also. Which is an added plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe today...it's okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I substituted 1/4 cup regular vegetable shortening and 1/4 cup of unsalted butter for the 1/2 cup of butter flavored shortening and they turned out delicious! I wouldn't recommend trying to roll this variation though...I just dropped by the tablespoonful onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These were average. yes they were soft but almost cakey.not a horrible cookie just not what i was looking for. I tried a sevond batch added rasberry jello an frosted them with buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Delicious and so easy! Like other posters I substituted butter for the butter-flavored shortening and used half brown sugar. Some yummy variations I came up with were mixing in three tablespoons of Nutella, which makes deliciously chewy cookies, and adding cinnamon and two tablespoons of grated apple, which makes them nice and fluffy with an apple pie flavor! Really versatile recipe, but just be warned they spread out a LOT. This may be because I dropped them rather than using a cookie cutter, but just something to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great for kids, easy to make and taste delicious!! My 6 years old son had a lot of fun baking this cookies!! We made 30 cookes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I would give this a 4 1/2 star only because the first thing I tasted was the saltiness due to the self rising flour. Not used to working with it, so this could just be me. Doesn't make the cookies too salty, just something I noticed, and I didn't frost these so if frosted might not notice at all. I got about 18 large cookies out of the recipe. I did add 1/4 tsp of almond extract in addition to the vanilla, which I think really made it super. Thanks and I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and needed about a cup more flour. Easy for the cut-out cookies, but the taste is just ok. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States