Ma Ma's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe today...it's okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I substituted 1/4 cup regular vegetable shortening and 1/4 cup of unsalted butter for the 1/2 cup of butter flavored shortening and they turned out delicious! I wouldn't recommend trying to roll this variation though...I just dropped by the tablespoonful onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
These were average. yes they were soft but almost cakey.not a horrible cookie just not what i was looking for. I tried a sevond batch added rasberry jello an frosted them with buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Delicious and so easy! Like other posters I substituted butter for the butter-flavored shortening and used half brown sugar. Some yummy variations I came up with were mixing in three tablespoons of Nutella, which makes deliciously chewy cookies, and adding cinnamon and two tablespoons of grated apple, which makes them nice and fluffy with an apple pie flavor! Really versatile recipe, but just be warned they spread out a LOT. This may be because I dropped them rather than using a cookie cutter, but just something to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Great for kids, easy to make and taste delicious!! My 6 years old son had a lot of fun baking this cookies!! We made 30 cookes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I would give this a 4 1/2 star only because the first thing I tasted was the saltiness due to the self rising flour. Not used to working with it, so this could just be me. Doesn't make the cookies too salty, just something I noticed, and I didn't frost these so if frosted might not notice at all. I got about 18 large cookies out of the recipe. I did add 1/4 tsp of almond extract in addition to the vanilla, which I think really made it super. Thanks and I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and needed about a cup more flour. Easy for the cut-out cookies, but the taste is just ok. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
very easy to make, didn't have to buy any extra ingredients, tastes like a sugar cookie, satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
First, the dough is way too soft to cut into shapes. I tried pressing them with a glass like a previous commenter and the dough was too sticky. I ended up flattening with the palm of my hand to the thickness suggested in the directions. The cookies spread A LOT and were gooey when I took them out. Yuck. I had some batter left over so for the next batch I rolled them into balls and let them bake for 12 minutes. They looked better but the flavor wasn't that great. Not using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
When we are craving something sweet, I pull this recipe out. Each time my family says "but we don't want plain old sugar cookies" and each time they end with "I can't believe they are gone already, they were so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States