Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Have done this for a couple of years now, the whole family asks for it by name "Ma Lipo's turkey please." Usually only bast once with the apricot glaze to cut down on the sweetness. Even my son, who hates onions, loves this gravy. Turkey always turns out so moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
didn't make the gravy, but the turkey was delicious, very moist & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was my very first time cooking a turkey, and it turned out to be phenomenal. My entire family loved it, especially the gravy. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very good & flavorful! I normally bake this in a reynolds oven bag upside down. The first year I made the apricot glaze & onions then added to the bag with the turkey prior to baking. The second year I made that part seperate & served on the side once the bird was carved. Having it on the side was more flavorful, instead of the broth & drippings from the bird diluting the apricot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The skin of the turkey had nice flavor but the meat didn't really have any of the flavor. It smelled delicious while cooking. I think the flavor comibination is more suited to a spring/summer dish though. I would make this again on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'd never made Thanksgiving dinner before this year and this recipe was clear, easy to follow and yielded a DELICIOUS turkey. Many of my guests were not big fans of turkey and they said that this juicy, flavorful turkey changed their minds- so much so I've been invited to make it again for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
used farm fresh turkey and did exactly as directed. was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I used the apricot-glaze to go on my Thanksgiving turkey this year. It was perfect. As a main recipe I used the "Perfect Turkey" recipe. The glaze gave a nice contrast to the hearty taste of the wine and the veggie and herb mix used in the other recipe. It was a nice refreshing contrast that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuttylicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I went to epicurious.com as others suggested and found the recipe there with some minor differences. This is an amazing recipe, and makes the most delicious turkey I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This got rave reviews. SOOOO good. Turkey was so moist-everyone loved it. I grabbed apple nectar by mistake. worked out fine.I didnt follow all the timing instructions and still worked great. I wll NEVER make another gravy again-excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States