Ma Lipo's Apricot-Glazed Turkey with Roasted Onion and Shallot Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I've been making this my Thanksgiving turkey this way for a number of years now and it always turns out perfect and is met with rave reviews from my guests. It is a little labor intensive, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I made this turkey for Thanksgiving 2 years ago, and now I am volunteered every Thanksgiving and Christmas to make this. Highly recommended for a someone that loves to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I used a smaller turkey and followed the cooking instructions on the bag rather than those indicated in the recipe. The only changes in the whole recipe were dried sage, and chicken bouillon cube + water for the stock. Fiance and son loved it, I found the glaze a little sweet and it overpowered the herbs in the herb butter rub. This was my second turkey, and it was a success this time. Nice recipe if you want a change from traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Amazing!!!! Delicious and beautiful!!!!! The gravy was off the hook!!!! I used 1 lb of shallots and 5 onions in anticipation of the need for more gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Didn't give it 5 stars because it was changed slightly. Used a small turkey (11 lbs), but kept the herb butter and glaze as written. didn't make the gravy. We made this in a roaster, so the glaze didn't get brown, but it had great flavor! The herb butter gave the turkey great flavor and we roasted it breast-down so the meast was nice and moist. Brushed glaze on, then served reserved glaze at the table so we could spread it on our meat as desired. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Coffelt
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is the second year I made this turkey.. My family just loves it, even a very picky son-in-law who usually does not like turkey went back for seconds of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Coffelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I first made this in 1991 and we have been using this recipe about once a year since then. Everyone always likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I had a craving for turkey so I bought a whole bone-in breast. I didn't want it to taste like my normal Thanksgiving turkey, so I tried this recipe. It was wonderful. I have to admit that I left out the sage because I wanted the sweetness of the apricots and onions without any interference. This was a great, different taste for turkey (of which I'm usually not a big fan, I make it normally once a year). I'll definitely use this recipe again. Thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Have done this for a couple of years now, the whole family asks for it by name "Ma Lipo's turkey please." Usually only bast once with the apricot glaze to cut down on the sweetness. Even my son, who hates onions, loves this gravy. Turkey always turns out so moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
didn't make the gravy, but the turkey was delicious, very moist & flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States